City schools name board officers for 2018

-A A +A

Hall is chair once again, Wilson named vice-chair

By Zac Oakes

The Campbellsville Independent Schools Board of Education started their first meeting of the year with the election of board officers.

Current board chair Pat Hall was selected to once again be chair of the board, while Suzanne Wilson was selected to be the board’s vice chair. Superintendent Kirby Smith was selected to be the board’s secretary, and assistant superintendent/financial director Chris Kidwell was selected to be the board’s treasurer.

Board elections are held in January of each year.

January is also School Board Appreciation Month in the state of Kentucky. Superintendent Smith and CES Principal Elisha Rhodes, CMS Principal Zach Lewis, and CHS Principal David Petett recognized the board members and presented them gifts, recognizing them for their service and commitment to the district’s students, teachers, parents, and staff.

 In other news from the meeting:

●      The board voted to approve funding for ACT assessments for Campbellsville High School sophomores. The district already funds the test for CHS juniors. By approving funding for sophomores, the district hopes to continually improve ACT scores for CHS students.

●      Change Awards were given to Campbellsville Middle School teacher Sharon Harris, CES Instructional Assistant Zach Durham, and the Campbellsville First United Methodist Church. The award was given to Campbellsville First United Methodist Church after Superintendent Smith visited a Christmas party at the church for the Star Child Program, which provides Christmas gifts for 30 Campbellsville Elementary students. The church has hosted the program for more than 30 years. It is coordinated by Linda Dernier and Lana Helm.

●      The board discussed potential changes of the starting time for regular board meetings. The meetings are held at 6 p.m. The board discussed potentially changing the meetings to either 6:30 p.m. or 7 p.m. but after several minutes of discussion, the board opted to keep the 6 p.m. start time for the year.

●      The board approved the 2018-2019 Fiscal Year Draft Budget, presented by Financial Director Chris Kidwell.


Personnel Report

New Employees- Penny Akers, substitute teacher; Jacob Burdette, CHS Virtual Lab teacher; Judy Cox, CES library assistant; LeeAnn Grider, CMS Math teacher; Weston Horn, CES instructional assistant; Rebecca Lawless, CHS Attendance Clerk; Tana Phillips, substitute teacher; Cody Thomas, substitute teacher

Resigned athletics/others- Elisha Rhodes, CHS Volleyball head coach

Hired athletics/others- Ashley Penick, CMS Yearbook Sponsor


Regular meetings of the Campbellsville Independent Schools Board of Education are held on the second Monday of each month at 6 p.m. at the board’s central office on South Columbia Avenue.