Bertram appointed to City Ethics Board

-A A +A
By Zac Oakes

The city approved an interlocal agreement for financing of the Economic Development Authority debt and appointed a new member to the City’s Ethics Committee at a special-called meeting Tuesday night at the Campbellsville Civic Center.

Phil Allan Bertram will be the newest member of the City’s Ethics Committee. He will replace Don Bishop, who passed away last month. He will join current members Frank Cheatham, Lucy Cox, Mark Rodgers, and Carol Kirtley.

The appointment of Bertram was recommended by Campbellsville Mayor Tony Young. Councilman David Nunery made a motion to approve Bertram for the position, which was seconded by councilman Randall Herron. The vote of approval was unanimous.

The recent audit performed by Kentucky Auditor of Public Accounts Mike Harmon referred two of the findings in the audit to the City’s Ethics Board. It is unknown when the Ethics Board will review those findings,

The council also adopted a resolution for the approval of an interlocal cooperative agreement for financing of EDA debt.

The agreement involves the city paying half of the debt, with the county paying the other half.

A motion to approve the agreement was made by councilman Allen Johnson and seconded by Terry Keltner. The motion passed unanimously.

Nine council members were present for the meeting Tuesday night. Council members that were absent were Greg Rice, Jimmy Ewing, and Jay Eastridge.

The next regularly scheduled meeting of the Campbellsville City Council will be February 5 in the Campbellsville Civic Center. City Council meetings are open to the public. Meetings take place at 7 p.m. ET.