Today's News

  • Campbellsville woman injured in two-vehicle crash

    A Campbellsville woman was injured in a two-vehicle crash Tuesday afternoon.

    According to a Campbellsville Police report, Anna Perkins, 73, of Campbellsville was attempting a left turn from University Drive onto North Central Avenue in a 1997 Plymouth van when she pulled into the path of a 2003 Lincoln LS, driven by Lottie Curtis, 66, of Campbellsville.

    Campbellsville/Taylor Rescue personnel transported Curtis to Taylor Regional Hospital. She was treated and released.

    Perkins and her passenger, who was not identified, were not injured in the crash.

  • Candidate for City Council declared ineligible

    A judge has ruled that City Council candidate Walter Ray Rafferty doesn't live in the city limits and therefore isn't eligible to run for the position in the November general election.

    Campbellsville City Councilman David Nunery filed a lawsuit last month alleging that Rafferty does not live in the city of Campbellsville. The lawsuit asked that a judge decide the issue.

  • Staying afloat in a slow economy

    Driving around his facility Tuesday morning, Cox Interior President/CEO Barry Cox points out that not a single shard of wood is wasted. What's not used to manufacture moldings, trim, doors, etc. is used either to produce wood shavings or create electricity for the facility.

    And today, that approach is more important than ever.

    Just as it has for any business in today's struggling economy, it's been a tough year for Cox Interior.

  • Crosstown Rivalry

    When the football schedules are released for Taylor County and Campbellsville high schools, every fan follows the same routine.

    They will place their finger at the top of the schedule and run it down the page until they find the Friday night when the two local rivals clash in their annual battle to claim bragging rights for the next year.

  • Sportsmanship is everyone's game

    Traditionally, the week of the Campbellsville v. Taylor County high school football game is a big week in the area. We are seeing Cardinals and Eagles all over the community and an emotion-filled rivalry. While the teams may not have gotten off to the season's start each was looking for, we encourage all involved to play hard, have fun and respect each other, whether it is a win, a loss or a draw. Good luck to both teams.

  • Love in unexpected places

    "No way!" I told my dad. "We absolutely do NOT need another dog." Along with my husband and myself, we have three kids, three cats and two dogs. We needed another dog like we needed another hole in our heads.

    Besides that, our dogs are fairly large - a border collie and a yellow Lab, and I've always told my husband and kids that if we ever got another dog, it would have to be a little fluffy "foo-foo" kind of dog that loves to cuddle.

  • It's our responsibility

    "All things bright and beautiful,

    All creatures great and small,

    All things wise and wonderful,

    The Lord God made them all."

    What would you do if a strange dog started to chase you? Approach it? Or retreat?

    We vote for retreating.

    And that's exactly what a mail carrier had to do on Gowdy Street in Campbellsville just last week. A not-so-friendly dog was loose on the street, and that kept residents who live there from having their mail delivered.

  • Dragons dominate home Cards 56-6

    Green County had impressed Taylor County’s Curtis Cotton on film and Friday’s live action did not do anything to dampen Cotton’s opinion on the Dragon’s wealth of talent.

    “They’ve got a team we aren’t ready for now,” Cotton admitted after the 56-6 home shellacking. “We may not see any better players than their quarterback and running backs all year.”

  • Long-time Campbellsville physician dies Monday

    A man who cared for thousands of Taylor Countians for nearly five decades has died.

    Dr. Forest F. Shely died Monday morning after suffering from heart problems and complications from strokes. He was 86.

    A supporter of Campbellsville University, the Campbellsville Rotary Club and a member of Campbellsville Baptist Church, Shely operated a medical practice in Taylor County from 1950 until retiring in the late 1990s.

  • Vendor openings available for fall festival

    The Homeplace on Green River will host a fall festival on Saturday, Sept. 11 from 9 a.m. to 5 p.m.

    Openings are available for arts and craft vendors. Booth rental is $10.

    For more information or to receive an application, contact Michelle Eastham at (270) 932-3268.

    Homeplace organizers are looking for volunteers who would like to help with the festival, such as parking, events, food sales, Homeplace membership applications and more.