Local News

  • Resident displaying art at library


    Valerie Michelle Pike, 17, of Campbellsville has artwork on display at Taylor County Public Library.

    Pike, a home-schooled senior, is the daughter of Ed and Marcenia Pike. They attend Saloma Baptist Church.

    Her drawings are all in pencil and will be on display through the end of July.

    Pike says she has been drawing since the age of 3 and hopes to study art at Campbellsville University. She also enjoys sculpture.

  • Campbellsville students learn about engineering


    Campbellsville Independent School students were introduced in May to the many different opportunities for jobs in the engineering field.

    The 21st Century after-school programs at Campbellsville High School and Campbellsville Elementary School, the Family Resource and Youth Services Center, along with the CISD Talented and Gifted Program and Greater Campbellsville United sponsored the event.

  • Officials urge caution in summer heat

    Don't try to battle hot summer temperatures without the proper preparations - heat illness can be life-threatening.

    This summer has seen temperatures climb well into the high 90s, with humidity that will take one's breath away.

    According to Kentucky Mesonet, the state's official source for weather and climate data, temperatures in Taylor County last week averaged 90 degrees. But this coming week, temperatures are expected to cool off a couple degrees.

    When heat is at high intensity, everyone is at risk for heat illness.

  • Guidelines in place for homeless voters

    County clerks across the state are expected to soon ask for a state law defining the registration process for homeless voters.

    On June 30, the State Board of Elections sent a memorandum to all county clerks outlining the process for registering homeless people. The memo was sent in response to an increase in the number of voter registration applications with the terms "homeless" or "place to place" in the space provided for a home address.

  • Man faces federal drug charges

    A Campbellsville man is facing federal drug charges after he was found with more than 2,000 pain pills and nearly $200,000 in cash.

    Ricky Burton was indicted last month by a federal grand jury and charged with conspiracy to possess Opana with the intent to distribute it and possession of a controlled substance. Opana is a narcotic pain reliever also known as oxymorphone.

    Burton's co-defendant, Devon Antonio McCants of Detroit, Mich., was also charged with possession of Opana with the intent to distribute it and conspiracy.

  • County to install mile markers at Green River

    Mile markers will soon be installed along Green River to help rescuers find people in emergency situations.

    Taylor County Judge/Executive Eddie Rogers told magistrates at last Tuesday's regular meeting that he has been given approval from U.S. Army Corps of Engineers staff to install the markers.

    He said there have been drownings at Green River on the past two July Fourth holidays, and mile markers could have helped rescue workers during the searches for the two people.

  • Rescue/E-911 plans to be made public in August

    Plans on how to save money at Rescue and E-911 are expected to be revealed in about six weeks.

    The city and county's joint committee appointed to study the operation, revenue and expenses of Campbellsville/Taylor County Rescue and E-911 services met for the first time last Thursday.

    Members include Campbellsville City Councilmen Mike Hall Jr. and Greg Rice and Magistrates Richard Phillips and Ed Gorin.

    Taylor County Judge/Executive Eddie Rogers and Campbellsville Mayor Tony Young will also attend the meetings, though they are nonvoting members.

  • A visit from 'Down Under'

    Kentucky Down Under visited Campbellsville on Friday for the final event of Taylor County Public Library's summer reading program.

  • CHS honors top students


    Campbellsville High School honored its top two students from the Class of 2011 on graduation night, Friday, May 27.

    According to CHS Principal Kirby Smith, Melanie Brockman was valedictorian and Taylor Levi was salutatorian.

    Smith said he enjoyed working with both students during their high school careers.

    "They were both great students who came to school every day ready to perform at the highest level," he said. "I look forward to seeing the many successes that await them."

  • CU promotes director to assistant dean of academic support


    Elena Groholske

    Campbellsville University

    Campbellsville University's Kevin Propes has been promoted to assistant dean of academic support, according to an announcement from Dr. Michael V. Carter, president of Campbellsville University.

    Propes previously served as director of introductory studies.

    He is a 1998 graduate of Campbellsville University with a bachelor of science in business administration. He has a master of arts in higher education from University of Louisville.