Local News

  • First taste of winter


    Though Taylor County's first true taste of winter was more of a whimper than a bang, city and county road crews were still prepared.

    According to Ronnie Dooley, assistant E-911 coordinator and Taylor County Emergency Management public information officer, E-911 dispatchers fielded a few calls on Thursday night from motorists who slid off the road.

    No damages or injuries were reported, he said.

  • TCHS names Students of the Week


    Taylor County High School recently named its Students of the Week for the week of Jan. 2-9.

    They are, from left, freshman Andrew Scalos, junior Timmy Mills and senior Shanda Campbell.

    Not pictured is sophomore Brent Burkhead.

  • KCA spelling bee winners to compete


    Kentucky Christian Academy's spelling bee winners will advance to a competition in Leitchfield on Feb. 17.

    From left, front, they are, first grade winners Seth Smith and Jackson Wise and second grade winners Rebekah Scott and Laken Floyd.

    Back, third grade winners Brad Gribbins and Austin Tungate, fourth grade winners Emalee Steele and River Russell and fifth grader winners Treyton Steele and Shelby Wilds.

  • School Board approves draft budget, though changes are expected


    James Roberts


    As required by state law, Taylor County School Board members have passed a draft 2012-2013 budget, though the final budget is expected to differ quite a bit.

    The draft budget includes $20.8 million in total revenue, though Superintendent Roger Cook says the budget is simply a best guess.

    With the 2012 General Assembly having only just begun, he said it's still unknown just what the state contribution will be to school budgets this year.

  • TCES names Good Deed winners


    Taylor County Elementary School recently announced its Good Deed winners for the week of Jan. 10.

    They are Keenan Shively, Drew Proctor, Jamie Biggs and Abby Riggins. Absent from the photo is Morgan Melton.

  • School menus for Jan. 16-20

    Campbellsville Independent

    Jan. 16-20

    Monday - Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Holiday. No school.

    Tuesday - Chicken nuggets, mashed potatoes, broccoli casserole, fruit salad and milk with choice of corn dog.

    Wednesday - Grilled cheese, chicken noodle soup, carrot sticks with dip, peach cup and milk with choice of pork chop.

    Thursday - Lasagna, tossed salad, corn on the cob, chocolate pudding, vanilla wafers, garlic bread and milk with choice of chicken fried steak.

  • Poster and essay contest open to local students

    Agriculture Commissioner James R. Comer recently invited Kentucky students to create a poster or write an essay on agriculture's impact in their everyday lives in the Kentucky Department of Agriculture's annual Poster and Essay Contest.

    "This year's theme is 'It All Starts With Agriculture,'" Comer said.

  • Locals make St. Catharine's dean's list

    Several local students were recently named to St. Catharine College's list of students who have achieved extraordinary academic success for the fall 2011 semester.

    The dean's list includes all students who had a grade point average of 3.6 to 3.999.

    Local students named to the list include Miriah Cox of Elk Horn, Randi Fields of Finley and Adrienne Leigh of Bradfordsville.

  • Jefferson graduates from St. Catharine


    Sarah M. Jefferson graduated from St. Catharine College's nursing program on Dec. 10.

    Jefferson is the daughter of Tom and Annette Jefferson and the granddaughter of Helen M. Akridge, all of Campbellsville, and the late Chester Akridge.

  • CES releases honor roll

    Campbellsville Elementary School recently released its honor roll for the second nine-week grading period.

    Students listed follow.

    All A's

    Emily Rodgers, Taliyah Hazelwood, Jaida Taylor, Jimmy Russell, Laura Lowe, Reuben Arachi, Kaleigh Hunt, Madison Lyons, Grant Rinehart, Arren Hash, Gracyne Hash, John Orberson, Kameron Smith, Zaria Cowan, Shelby Smith, Haley Morris, Bailey Thompson, Cole Kidwell, Alli Wilson, Gavin Johnson, Zi Yang, Sydney Wilson, Lauryn Agathen, Aleah Knifley, Bailey Smith, Savanna Brockman and Hannah Hall.