• Locals graduate from University of the Cumberlands

    Two Campbellsville residents recently graduated from the University of the Cumberlands.

    On Saturday, May 10, the university conferred 649 degrees for graduation.

    Rebekah Gabbert of Campbellsville graduated with a master of arts in education degree in teacher leadership. She is the daughter of Jerry and Nadine Butler and the wife of Josh Gabbert.

  • TCES names Teacher of the Year


    Taylor County Elementary School teacher Melissa Melton was named Teacher of the Year for the 2013-2014 school year on May 23.

    She was presented a plaque and gift and crowned queen of Morning Meeting.

  • Local students win bank art contest


    Taylor County High School students recently participated in Citizens Bank and Trust Co.'s first Independence Day art contest.

    Students from Campbellsville and Taylor County high schools were asked to create a piece of art that made them think about their own personal experiences of the Taylor County Fourth of July celebration.

  • CU School of Nursing has pinning ceremony


    Drew Tucker

    Campbellsville University

    "When a call comes in, do you want to speak to the doctor in charge or do you want to speak to the nurse who knows what's really going on?" said Dr. Frank Cheatham, senior vice president for academic affairs.

    The question was posed to the families of the 31 students who were being pinned in a ceremony from Campbellsville University's School of Nursing on May 1 at Ransdell Chapel.

  • TCMS releases honor roll

    Taylor County Middle School has released its honor roll for the fourth nine-week grading period.

    Students listed follow.

    Sixth Grade

  • Taylor County Schools will offer summer food program

    Taylor County Schools will again participate in the Summer Food Service Program.

    Meals will be served in the Taylor County High School cafeteria on Mondays through Thursdays to children at no charge. The program is from June 9-12, June 16-19, June 23-26, June 30, July 1-3, July 7-10, July 14-17, July 21-24 and July 28-31.

    Lunch will be served from 11:30 a.m. to 12:30 p.m.

    Meals will also be served at the Taylor County Public Library on the same days from noon to 1 p.m.

    For more information, call (270) 465-5371.

  • Locals honored at Elizabethtown college


    Elizabethtown Community and Technical College hosted an honors reception to recognize outstanding academic achievement on April 25, and several Campbellsville residents were honored.

    Each year, the college recognizes students who have achieved academic honors and scholastic distinction by attaining and maintaining high accumulative grade point averages. Students must maintain a grade point average of 3.5 or above on a full year's worth of coursework at ECTC to be eligible.

  • Resident graduates from McKendree University

    Nena Hoenck of Campbellsville graduated from McKendree University recently with a MSN degree in nursing management.

    The university had its 174th commencement exercises on May 10 at the Lebanon, Ill., campus. Graduates at the Louisville and Radcliff, Kentucky campuses receive their diplomas on June 7.

    The Class of 2014 includes 908 graduates of the College of Arts and Sciences, School of Business, School of Education and School of Nursing and Health Professions. They hail from 16 states and four countries.

  • CU presents Algernon Sydney Sullivan awards


    Kasey Ricketts

    Campbellsville University

    Campbellsville University presented the Algernon Sydney Sullivan Foundation Awards to Paul Osborne, a member of the Board of Trustees and former mayor of Campbellsville; and Jacqueline C. Nelson, CU Student Government Association president, at her recent commencements. Both are from Campbellsville.

    This is the 12th consecutive year the Algernon Sydney Sullivan Awards have been presented to a student and to a member of the community.

  • TCES names Good Deed winners


    Taylor County Elementary School recently named its Good Deed winners for the week of May 23.

    They are Adrieanna Wile, Cara Whitley, Chloe McCubbin, Lukas Burress and Jake Phillips.