• Locals honored at Elizabethtown college


    Elizabethtown Community and Technical College hosted an honors reception to recognize outstanding academic achievement on April 25, and several Campbellsville residents were honored.

    Each year, the college recognizes students who have achieved academic honors and scholastic distinction by attaining and maintaining high accumulative grade point averages. Students must maintain a grade point average of 3.5 or above on a full year's worth of coursework at ECTC to be eligible.

  • Resident graduates from McKendree University

    Nena Hoenck of Campbellsville graduated from McKendree University recently with a MSN degree in nursing management.

    The university had its 174th commencement exercises on May 10 at the Lebanon, Ill., campus. Graduates at the Louisville and Radcliff, Kentucky campuses receive their diplomas on June 7.

    The Class of 2014 includes 908 graduates of the College of Arts and Sciences, School of Business, School of Education and School of Nursing and Health Professions. They hail from 16 states and four countries.

  • CU presents Algernon Sydney Sullivan awards


    Kasey Ricketts

    Campbellsville University

    Campbellsville University presented the Algernon Sydney Sullivan Foundation Awards to Paul Osborne, a member of the Board of Trustees and former mayor of Campbellsville; and Jacqueline C. Nelson, CU Student Government Association president, at her recent commencements. Both are from Campbellsville.

    This is the 12th consecutive year the Algernon Sydney Sullivan Awards have been presented to a student and to a member of the community.

  • TCES names Good Deed winners


    Taylor County Elementary School recently named its Good Deed winners for the week of May 23.

    They are Adrieanna Wile, Cara Whitley, Chloe McCubbin, Lukas Burress and Jake Phillips.

  • TCES names Students of the Week


    Taylor County Elementary School recently named its Students of the Week for the week of May 23.

    They are Sabrina Farris and Adelia Simpson.

  • Campbellsville Schools will offer summer food program

    Campbellsville Independent Schools will again participate in the Summer Food Service Program.

    Meals will be served in the Campbellsville High School cafeteria on Mondays through Thursdays to children at no charge. The program is from June 2 through June 27 and from July 7 to July 31.

    Meals will also be served at the Campbellsville Elementary School cafeteria on Mondays through Thursdays from June 2 through June 27.

    Breakfast will be served from 8:15 to 9:15 a.m. and lunch will be from 11:30 a.m. to 12:30 p.m.

  • City school employees to get 2-percent raise next year

    They will end the fiscal year with nearly $2 million in the bank and plan to give their teachers a raise next year.

    At last week's regular meeting, board members discussed Campbellsville Independent Schools' tentative 2014-2015 fiscal year budget.

    Finance Director Chris Kidwell said he anticipates the district will, like last year, have about $1.9 million in carryover from this year's budget to add to the upcoming fiscal year budget.

  • TC schools to start year with more money than last

    Taylor County Schools will start the new fiscal year with a little more money in the bank. Finance Director Marcie Close reported to Board members at their meeting last week that the tentative total budget for fiscal year 2014-2015 is $27.6 million, a 1.5-percent increase from the current year.

    The general fund budget will increase by about 2 percent to $22.6 million.

    Included in the general fund budget is a 1-percent pay increase for all employees.

  • TCHS names Students of the Year


    Taylor County High School recently named its Students of the Year for the 2013-2014 school year. Faculty members vote for the winners.

    They are freshman Loren Finck, sophomore Christine Vega, junior Caleb Lee and senior Heather Sabo.

  • CU hosts pinning ceremony for social work graduates


    Drew Tucker

    Campbellsville University

    "This is not a rite of passage, but rather an effort earned and successfully achieved by our graduating students," Dr. Darlene Eastridge, dean of Campbellsville University's Carver School of Social Work and Counseling, said during the school's pinning ceremony May 2 in The Gheens Recital Hall in the Gosser Fine Arts Center.

    Fifty-five students graduated with degrees from the school, including several from Campbellsville.