• Students invited to apply for leadership institute

    The Center for Rural Development is looking for some of the best and brightest high school students across Southern and Eastern Kentucky to grow their leadership skills as Rogers Scholars and build their business and entrepreneurial skills while participating in Entrepreneurial Leadership Institute program.

    Applications for the 2011 summer sessions of both Rogers Scholars and ELI will be accepted through Jan. 31 and may be downloaded from a link on The Center's Web site at www.centertech.com or directly from Rogers Scholars' website at www.rogersscholars.com.

  • TCES hosts Supper with Santa


    Taylor County Elementary School PTA hosted its annual Supper with Santa event on Friday, Dec. 3.

  • School menus for Jan. 3-7

    Taylor County

    Jan. 3-7

    Monday - Mini corn dogs, cheesy potatoes, lima beans, strawberry cup and milk.

    Tuesday - Chicken sandwich, hash browns, broccoli casserole, fruit salad and milk.

    Wednesday - Taco salad, cheese, lettuce, tomato, refried beans, Spanish rice, pineapple tidbits and milk.

    Thursday - Deli wrap, lettuce, tomato, baked chips, fresh carrots and dip, applesauce and milk.

    Friday - Pizza, tossed salad, sweet corn, gelatin cup and milk.

  • Board members take oath of office

    Staff Report

    Board members were sworn in and a schedule of meetings for 2011 approved at Monday night's Campbellsville Independent School Board meeting.

    Angie Johnson, Mitch Overstreet and Suzanne Wilson were re-elected by voters in the November general election and will retain their seats on the Board. Finance director Chris Kidwell led the three in reciting the oath of office.

    As for the Board's meetings in 2011, members voted to keep the same time and dates, with the exception of January and February.

  • PTSA members treat CMS students


    PTSA members treated Campbellsville Middle School students to prizes during lunch on Wednesday, Dec. 15. Four students from each grade were chosen at random to draw for gift cards from local businesses. All students received a door prize.

  • Clark receives American Degree Award


    Samantha Renae Clark received the American Degree Award at the 83rd national FFA Convention in Indianapolis, Ind. on Oct. 23. This is the highest honor an FFA member can receive.

    Clark is a 2009 Taylor County High School graduate, where she was a member of the FFA club for four year.

    She has held several offices and received numerous FFA awards. She was the Lake Cumberland regional vice president for 2009-2010.

  • Campbellsville native recognized at art exhibition


    Five University of Kentucky art students, including a Campbellsville native, were recently recognized as part of the Carey Ellis Juried Student Art Exhibition.

    The art show, featuring work by graduate and undergraduate art students at UK, was presented in the Barnhart Gallery as part of the UK Department of Art and Art Graduate Student Association's Open Studio event on Dec. 3.

    Campbellsville native Heidi Hastings, an art studio senior, was one of two students presented with the Theophilia Joan Oexmann Award.

  • Cold weather? Grab a book

    Bonnie Webster

    Taylor County Public Library

    Cold, nasty weather outside? This is the kind of weather to curl up with a good book such as:

  • Taylor County residents receive honors from LWC

    A total of 22 Taylor County residents have earned academic honors at Lindsey Wilson College for the 2010 fall semester.

    Five have been named to the 2010 fall semester president's list, and 17 have been named to the 2010 fall semester dean's list.

    Campbellsville residents named to the president's list are Lindsey Flair, Cody Ford, Lacy Harris, Kathryn Phelps and Brittany Pike.

  • TCHS raises money for animal shelter


    Taylor County High School Cardinal Kroger staff recently had a penny war to benefit the Taylor County Animal Shelter. A total of $264.04 was raised. Pictured are members of the Kroger staff, from left, Taylor Wisdom, Zach Bertram, Nolan Slinker, Raven Burress, Kaitlin Woodrum, Rachel Clements, Abby Wallace, Rachel Riggs and Whitney Eubank.