• CU announces president's, dean's lists for fall 2010

    Christina Miller

    Campbellsville University

    Campbellsville University Vice President for Academic Affairs Dr. Frank Cheatham has announced the academic honors' list for the fall 2010 semester.

    The academic honors' list recognizes students who achieve a grade point average of 3.5 or above for the semester with a course load of at least 12 hours.

  • Local graduates from Jacksonville State University

    A Campbellsville student was among 617 candidates for graduation who crossed the stage to receive their degrees during Jacksonville State University's fall commencement ceremonies at Pete Mathews Coliseum on Friday, Dec. 17.

    Campbellsville resident Carrie Leonard graduated magna cum laude with special honors in nursing.

    JSU President Dr. William A. Meehan delivered the commencement address and presented the degrees and the faculty led the processional.

  • TCES student selected as legislative page

    Shannon Clark

    Taylor County Schools

    Molly Sullivan, a fifth-grade student at Taylor County Elementary School, has been selected as a legislative page through the Family Resource and Youth Services Coalition of Kentucky's Legislative Page Program competition, according to Ann Mattingly, family resource center director at Taylor County Elementary School.

    Sullivan will attend the legislative session in Frankfort on Feb. 16 and will be assigned a state representative to assist for the day.

  • CES releases honor roll

    Campbellsville Elementary School has released its honor roll for the second nine-week grading period.

    Students listed follow.

    All A's

  • CHS releases honor roll

    Campbellsville High School has released its honor roll for the second nine-week grading period.

    Students listed follow.

    All A's

    Freshmen - Emily Haley, Katelyn McMahan, Nathan Riggs, Daniel Rogers and Mollie Williams.

    Sophomores - Grace Arnold, Samantha Berry, Cassidy Blair, Ryan Gregory and Stealth Townley.

    Juniors - Jonathon Baker and Jesse Reynolds.

    Seniors - Ahmed El-Amouri and Taylor Levi.

    A's and B's

  • Campbellsville students make Kentucky All State Choir


    Four Campbellsville Independent students recently made the Kentucky Junior High All State Choir.

    Emily Haley, Monica Wilkerson and Mollie Williams will be singing with the Kentucky Junior High Treble Choir and Austin Hash will be singing with the Kentucky Junior High Mixed Choir on Thursday, Feb. 10.

    The choirs are an elite group of students who auditioned in October along with about 900 other choral students from Kentucky. Out of the 900, about 400 were selected.

  • TCES names Writers of the Week


    Taylor County Elementary School recently named its Writers of the Week for Jan. 13. They are kindergartner Desiree Pearce, first grader Ethan Watkins, second grader Dylan Morrison, third grader Kyleigh Burch, fourth grader Chelsea Davis and fifth grader Ryan Kearney.

  • TCHS names Students of the Week


    Taylor County High School recently named its Students of the Week for Jan. 3-7. They are, from left, juniors Kathryn Hieneman and Blake Dudgeon. Sophomore Jose Zambrano and freshman Chelsey Edwards aren't pictured.

  • Box top king and queen named


    Hayley Wethington and Grant Lawson were named first grade box top king and queen recently at a Campbellsville Elementary School celebration assembly.

  • CU hires social work professor


    Matthew Schmuck

    Campbellsville University

    Dr. Kellie D. Cody Jr., formerly of Augusta, Mich., has been employed as an assistant professor of social work, according to an announcement from Dr. Michael V. Carter, president of Campbellsville University.

    Cody received his doctorate in Interdisciplinary Health Sciences from Western Michigan University in 2009. He also received his bachelor of science in social work from Western Michigan University, graduating in 1977.