• Campbellsville Middle to elect SBDM parent members

    Campbellsville Middle School PTSA will host an election of parent members of the school's site-based decision making council on Wednesday, May 11.

    Elections will take place at CMS from 3 to 6 p.m.

    Two parent members will be elected to serve on the council. Absentee ballots will not be allowed.

    SBDM councils

  • School menus for May 2-6

    Campbellsville Independent

    May 2-6

    Monday - Pizza, buttered corn, mandarin oranges, Rice Krispie treat and milk. Choice - chuckwagon.

    Tuesday - Chicken patty on bun, tater tots, buttered peas, peaches and milk. Choice - corn dog.

    Wednesday - Sausage patty, baked apples, biscuit, gravy, scrambled eggs, jelly and milk. Choice - pork chop.

    Thursday - Pork roast, gravy, mashed potatoes, green beans, fruit salad, roll and milk. Choice - chicken fried steak.

  • TCHS students named Roger's Scholars


    Taylor County High School's 2011 Roger's Scholars are Don Dabney, left, the son of Donald and Susan Dabney, and Kaitlyn Benningfield, the daughter of Keith and Sherri Benningfield.

  • TCHS students named Governor's Scholars


    Taylor County High School's 2011 Governor's Scholars are, from left, Campbell Bishop, Alex Hezik, Rachael Riggs, Abbi Phillips, Brittany Gaddis and Matthew Hart.

  • TCES announces Writers of the Week


    Taylor County Elementary School recently announced its Writers of the Week for April 21.

    They are, from left, kindergartner Jeffrey Sprowles, first-grader Jake Gray, second-grader Leticia Escudero, third-grader Jackson Herron, fourth-grader Brianna McVay and fifth-grader Landon Simmons.

  • TCES names Good Deed winners


    Taylor County Elementary School recently announced its Good Deed winners for the week of April 20.

    They are, from left, Cheyenne Hall, Sierra DeMers, Carli Clifford, Joshua Miller and Gannon Atkins.

  • TCHS names Students of the Week


    Taylor County High School recently announced its Students of the Week for April 11-15.

    They are, from left, freshman Cody Berry, sophomore Marquis Johnson and junior Levi Smith. Senior Jordan Clark was absent from the photo.

  • CES names Students of the Week


    Campbellsville Elementary School recently announced its Students of the Week.

    Front, from left, they are Levi Dicken, Michael Guiterrez, Gavin Morris, Caitlyn Parks, Destiny Agee, Daniel Johnson and Abby Ford. Middle: Emily Rodgers, Colin Harris, Shelby Hunt, Meredith Pogue, Mackenzie Wright, Taliyah Hazelwood and Jeremiah Garrett. Back: Remi Stone, Christopher Alia, Jordan Perkins, Seth Tindal and Quentin Skaggs.

  • Conservation art, writing contest winners announced


    The Taylor County Conservation District recently announced the winners of the 2010 conservation art and writing contest. The theme was "Kentucky's Soil - All Hands In."

    All Kentucky students grade 6 through 12 are eligible to compete in the writing contest. Only students in grade 1 through 5 may compete in the art contest.

    School and district winners receive cash prizes.

    First place in the county receives a $40 award and runner-up receives a $30 cash award.

  • CU, community and technical college sign transfer agreement


    Christina Miller

    Campbellsville University

    Campbellsville University and the Kentucky Community and Technical College System signed a transfer agreement on April 5 that will allow students from KCTCS to almost seamlessly transfer to CU.