• Preschool celebrates Kentucky Derby


    Campbellsville Elementary School preschool students in Mary Jane Weddle's class celebrated the Kentucky Derby last Thursday by wearing Derby hats to school.

  • CES PTA officer election is May 20 and 23

    The Campbellsville Elementary School PTA officer election process has begun.

    Nominations for the offices of president, vice president, secretary and treasurer will continue through May 18.

    Nomination forms can be turned in to the CES office through 4 p.m. on Wednesday, May 18.

    The election will be Friday, May 20 from 7:30 a.m. to 4 p.m. and Monday, May 23 from 7:30 a.m. to 5 p.m. Voting ballots will be in the CES office. New officers will be announced on Tuesday, May 24.

  • Local violinists perform with CU orchestra


    Three local violinists performed as part of the violin section during the Campbellsville University Orchestra's performance on April 28. The concert was directed by Dr. Robert Gaddis and assistant director Wansoo Cho.

    Pictured, from left, are Madeira Curry from Taylor County High School, Chloe Cheng of Adair County High School and Mary Tress Eastham who attends Green County Vocational School and is home schooled. Their violin teacher, Roger Noel Davis, is in back.

  • Board approves tentative budget

    James Roberts


    Despite significant cuts to state funding, no jobs will be slashed at Taylor County Schools.

    While districts across the state are responding to funding cuts by handing out pink slips, Taylor County School Superintendent Roger Cook said jobs here will be spared by not replacing those who have retired.

    And, despite a $230,000 state funding cut and a looming 10- to 20-percent cut to Title 1 funding, all employees will receive a 1 percent raise.

  • School menus for May 16-20

    Campbellsville Independent

    May 16-20

    Monday - Barbecue pork rib, French fries, Rice Krispie treat, pears and milk. Choice - chuckwagon.

    Tuesday - Election Day. No school.

    Wednesday - Baked spaghetti, tossed salad, hash brown, pineapple tidbits, Texas toast and milk. Choice - pork chop.

    Thursday - Turkey or pork roast, mashed potatoes, green beans, peach cups and milk. Choice - chicken fried steak.

    Friday - Hot dog, tater tots, buttered corn, fruit juicee and milk. Choice - fish.

  • A ticket to freedom


    Kaitlyn Benningfield

    Taylor County Schools

    Some children dream of becoming movie stars while others dream of visiting another country, but Neal Upchurch Jr. only dreamed of more independence and mobility. He wasn't able to fulfill his dream until this spring when his mother's van was converted to hold his wheelchair.

  • TCHS student places first in drawing competition


    Taylor County High School student Christa Thomas recently received first place for a drawing in the State Woman's Club Competition.

  • CU Japanese students raise $2,400 for homeland


    Caleb Harris

    Campbellsville University

    In response to the earthquake and tsunami that hit Japan in March, Japanese students at Campbellsville University united and formed their own relief team. A total of $2,420 was raised for the CU Japanese Relief Fund for the Kentucky Baptist Convention.

  • School menus for May 9-13

    Campbellsville Independent

    May 9-13

    Monday - Fish, macaroni and cheese, pinto beans, peach cups and milk. Choice - chuckwagon.

    Tuesday - Lasagna, tossed salad, diced pears, garlic bread and milk. Choice - corn dog.

    Wednesday - Chicken nuggets, mashed potatoes, green beans, strawberry cups and milk. Choice - pork chop.

    Thursday - Tacos with tortilla chips, lettuce, tomatoes and cheese, Spanish rice, mandarin oranges and milk. Choice - chicken fried steak.

  • CES names Box Top winners


    Campbellsville Elementary School fourth-grade students who brought the most Box Tops to school were recently announced. King is Spencer Swafford and the Queen is Christa Riggs.

    Other winners include Abbie Dicken, Sarah Ford, Reagan Knight, John Michael Netherland, Christa Riggs, Davon Cecil, Caleigh Bright, Tabitha Burress, Samuel Cox, Tristan Hovious, Selena Ritchie, Daesean Vancleave, Chloe Gupton, Tristan Johnson, Myles Murrell, Piper Rucker, Spencer Swafford, Haley Watson, Casey Hardin, Jeremiah Jackson, Josh Mahan and Jaylah Tucker.