• CHS seniors receive awards

    Campbellsville High School seniors received several awards during Class Night on Friday, May 20.

    Several students were honored for receiving awards and scholarships.

    Students recognized were:

    ♦ Karissa Renee Atkinson - Lindsey Wilson College Academic Achievement Scholarship and Silver National Career Readiness Certificate.

    ♦ Matthew Chase Bottoms - Gold National Career Readiness Certificate.

  • CU presents Algernon Sydney Sullivan awards


    Elena Groholske

    Campbellsville University

    For the ninth year in a row, Campbellsville University has given the prestigious Algernon Sydney Sullivan Award. 

    "Sullivan was a lawyer, devout Christian, mediator, powerful and appealing orator, a courageous citizen during perilous times, a noted philanthropist and a devoted family man," Dr. Michael V. Carter, president of Campbellsville University, said at the university's commencement ceremony on May 14.

  • ECTC students honored for academic achievement


    Elizabethtown Community and Technical College hosted an honors reception to recognize outstanding academic achievement on Friday, May 6 at Pritchard Community Center in Elizabethtown.

    Several categories of achievement were honored and several Campbellsville students received awards.

    Honors students from Campbellsville are Jackie L. Bond, Sabrina Jane Bowles, Sretta Tee Clark, Colton T. Lobb and Carol F. Richerson.

  • Locals named to SCC dean's list

    Billy Shawn Curry and Dusty Keith Harris from Taylor County were recently named to Somerset Community College dean's list for the spring 2011 semester.

    SCC's enrollment is more than 9,200 students with a total of 701 students making the spring dean's list.

    To be a member of the dean's list, a student must maintain a 3.5 grade point average and be a full-time student at Somerset Community College. A full-time student must take 12 credit hours during a semester, excluding developmental classes.

  • CES honors dance team members


    Campbellsville Elementary School recently honored its fourth-grade dance team members. They are, from left, Piper Rucker, Hayley Stapleton, Andrea Bryant and Cristina Barrera.

  • CES announces fourth-grade award winners


    Campbellsville Elementary School fourth-grade award winners are, from left, Christa Riggs, math; Jeremiah Jackson, social studies; Elizabeth Sullivan, science and Myles Murrell, reading.

  • CES students receive PE awards


    Campbellsville Elementary School fourth-grade students recently received PE awards. They are, from left, Daesean VanCleave, Piper Rucker and Travis Nash.

  • CES students make treble choir


    Campbellsville Elementary School students named to the Fourth District Treble Choir are Chloe Gupton, Myles Murrell, Reagan Knight, Salena Ritchie and Haley Stapleton.

  • Campbellsville Schools will offer summer food program

    Campbellsville Independent Schools will again offer the Kentucky Summer Food Service Program.

    Meals will be served in the Campbellsville High/Elementary cafeteria Monday through Friday to children younger than 19 at no charge. The program began June 1 and continues through June 30.

    Breakfast will be served from 8:15 to 9:15 a.m. and lunch will be from 11:15 a.m. to 12:15 p.m.

    The cafeteria will arrange meals for groups of children attending church activities, camps or nonprofit community programs.

  • TCHS wins second place at plane competition


    The 2011 Kentucky Institute for Aerospace Education and University of Kentucky State Wing Design Competition, sponsored by NASA and R.J. Corman Aviation Services, was Tuesday, May 24 at R.J. Corman field in Nicholasville.

    Taylor County High School won second place overall during the competition, first place for a written report and best uniform recognition.

    TCHS students designed their own remote control airplane.