• Resident named to MSU dean's list

    Campbellsville resident Eric Douglas Bainer has been named to the dean's list for the spring 2011 semester at Morehead State University.

    To be eligible for dean's list, a student must carry a semester GPA of 3.5 or better and take a minimum of 12 hours of courses.

  • Residents complete job readiness class


    Big Sandy Area Development District sponsored a Jobs Readiness Class during the month of May at the Campbellsville/Taylor County Fire Department. Pictured are, from left, Joe Cornett, regional planner; Donna Benningfield, employment specialist; Sarah Haralson; Tammy Bridges; Felicia Pike; Jerome Pike; Elizabeth Henderson; Lisa Cheatham, instructor; Jackie Livers, Brandon Skaggs and Linda Hamm.

  • KCA students learn fire safety


    Kentucky Christian Academy second-grade students in Jessica Dillon's class recently learned about fire safety from Campbellsville/Taylor County firefighters. From left, front, are Grayson Wise, Briana Mardis, Katie Hollenbach, Blaine Frazier, Natalie Ford, Keeli Farmer, Aaron Steele, Reili Farmer and Austin Tungate. Back: firefighter Keith Bricken, Chloe Newton, Nick Cheatham, Luke Clark, Adam Jeffries, Lathan Hamilton, Hayes Mason, Will Hoenck, Tristin Faulkner, Stephen Ferrie, Brad Gribbins and firefighter Wesley Dillon.

  • Junior Beta officers deliver gifts


    Taylor County Elementary School Junior Beta officers recently helped the Taylor County Family Resource Center assemble and deliver "Read Baby Read" program gifts to Taylor Regional Hospital. The program is designed to emphasize the importance of early childhood literacy to new mothers. Pictured are, from left, Weston Young, Rachel Myers, Pam Hurtgen and Mattie Blakeman.

  • CHS seniors receive awards

    Campbellsville High School seniors received several awards during Class Night on Friday, May 20.

    Several students were honored for receiving awards and scholarships.

    Students recognized were:

    ♦ Karissa Renee Atkinson - Lindsey Wilson College Academic Achievement Scholarship and Silver National Career Readiness Certificate.

    ♦ Matthew Chase Bottoms - Gold National Career Readiness Certificate.

  • CU presents Algernon Sydney Sullivan awards


    Elena Groholske

    Campbellsville University

    For the ninth year in a row, Campbellsville University has given the prestigious Algernon Sydney Sullivan Award. 

    "Sullivan was a lawyer, devout Christian, mediator, powerful and appealing orator, a courageous citizen during perilous times, a noted philanthropist and a devoted family man," Dr. Michael V. Carter, president of Campbellsville University, said at the university's commencement ceremony on May 14.

  • ECTC students honored for academic achievement


    Elizabethtown Community and Technical College hosted an honors reception to recognize outstanding academic achievement on Friday, May 6 at Pritchard Community Center in Elizabethtown.

    Several categories of achievement were honored and several Campbellsville students received awards.

    Honors students from Campbellsville are Jackie L. Bond, Sabrina Jane Bowles, Sretta Tee Clark, Colton T. Lobb and Carol F. Richerson.

  • Locals named to SCC dean's list

    Billy Shawn Curry and Dusty Keith Harris from Taylor County were recently named to Somerset Community College dean's list for the spring 2011 semester.

    SCC's enrollment is more than 9,200 students with a total of 701 students making the spring dean's list.

    To be a member of the dean's list, a student must maintain a 3.5 grade point average and be a full-time student at Somerset Community College. A full-time student must take 12 credit hours during a semester, excluding developmental classes.

  • CES honors dance team members


    Campbellsville Elementary School recently honored its fourth-grade dance team members. They are, from left, Piper Rucker, Hayley Stapleton, Andrea Bryant and Cristina Barrera.

  • CES announces fourth-grade award winners


    Campbellsville Elementary School fourth-grade award winners are, from left, Christa Riggs, math; Jeremiah Jackson, social studies; Elizabeth Sullivan, science and Myles Murrell, reading.