• Student with local ties wins science fair


    Jonathan Bartley of Lebanon won the Marion County Public Library Science Fair on July 23.

    He is the son of Eric and Kristen Bartley of Lebanon and the grandson of Benny and Phyllis Humphress of Campbellsville.

    Bartley received a ribbon and a $20 Walmart gift card.

  • School Menus for Aug. 18-22

    Campbellsville Independent

    Aug. 18-22

    Monday - Mini corn dog, macaroni and cheese, sweat peas, fruit cocktail and milk.

    Tuesday - Chicken tetrazzini, tossed salad with tomatoes, baby carrots with dip, diced pears and milk.

    Wednesday - Taco salad, tortilla chips with salsa, shredded lettuce, diced tomatoes and shredded cheese, Spanish rice, pineapple tidbits and milk.

    Thursday - Pepperoni pizza, salad, corn, applesauce, graham cracker and milk.

  • School Menus for Aug. 11-15

    Campbellsville Independent

    Aug. 11-15

    Monday - Cheeseburger on bun with pickles and onions, baked fries, cole slaw, peaches and milk.

    Tuesday - Breaded chicken patty, mashed potatoes, peas and carrots, mandarin oranges and milk.

    Wednesday - Bosco pizza stick, garden salad, corn, sidekick smoothies and milk.

    Thursday - Chicken nuggets, broccoli casserole, seasoned carrots, fruit cocktail and milk.

  • School Menus for Aug. 6-8

    Campbellsville Independent

    Aug. 6-8

    Wednesday - No menu provided.

    Thursday - No menu provided.

    Friday - No menu provided.

    Taylor County

    Aug. 6-8

    Wednesday - Chicken tenders, mashed potatoes, broccoli casserole, bread slice, chilled pears and milk.

    Thursday - Hamburger with pickles, onions and tomato, french fries, baked beans, mandarin oranges and milk.

  • Do It Yourself


    Taylor County Public Library hosted a do it yourself beauty event on Saturday, with participants learning to make their own salt scrub and facial cream.

    Debbie Parson, adult services librarian, taught the class and said natural beauty products are good for the skin because whatever is put on it ends up in a person's body.

  • Cville superintendent gets raise


    After receiving a top rating last month, Campbellsville Schools' leader has been given a raise.

    At Monday night's regular Campbellsville Board of Education meeting, members voted to amend Superintendent Mike Deaton's contract to a salary of $117,700. The contract was also reduced from 250 days of work to 240.

    In his previous contract, after salary, benefits and a stipend, Deaton received about $110,000. His base salary was $55,322.

    The contract, which was renewed last year, expires June 30, 2017.

  • Taylor County Schools ends year with healthy general fund

    Taylor County Schools ended the year with about $500,000 more in its general fund than the previous year and stayed well within its budget, according to Finance Director Marcie Close.

    Close presented Board members with a year-end financial report at their regular meeting last week. The District started fiscal year 2014 with a beginning balance of $3.5 million. Because the fiscal year ended on June 30, Close said the report allows for expenses and revenue expected to come in through August from utility, motor vehicle and delinquent property taxes and other sources.

  • Lamb named national talent winner


    Blair Lamb of Campbellsville was recently named national champion of the special talent category at the National BETA Convention in Richmond, Va.

    Lamb represented the Campbellsville Middle School Beta Club.

    She won the state category in February, which allowed her to advance to nationals.

    She competed against 10 other state finalists to claim the top spot.

  • CES student wins poster contest

    Briana Davis, a third-grade student at Campbellsville Elementary School, recently won the "I am a First Responder" statewide poster contest sponsored by the Kentucky Association of School Administrators.

    Davis was named champion of the third- to fifth-grade division and will be recognized at the state KASA conference this month at the Galt House in Louisville.

  • Discounted GED testing offered

    Kentucky Adult Education recently announced that eligible adults can take each module of the GED test at a reduced rate of $10, as a result of $20 vouchers being provided to eligible individuals.

    With the use of these vouchers, the cost of a full GED test will be $40. The regular cost of the GED test is $120, so the vouchers represent an $80 savings to test takers.