• School officials to apply for safety grant

    The year is off to a good start at Campbellsville Elementary School, but officials there say they are applying for a grant to help make their school even safer.

    At Monday night's regular Campbellsville Board of Education meeting, the monthly Academic Spotlight was on CES.

    Principal Ricky Hunt said he, CES Library Media Specialist Suzanne Crowder and some other teachers are in the process of applying for a grant at Lowe's that could provide up to $400,000 for the school to focus on safety.

  • TCHS band receives first place award


    The Taylor County High School Marching Cardinals competed last Saturday in the South Central Kentucky Marching Band Classic in Glasgow.

    The band was awarded best percussion, best color guard and first-place awards in Class AAA competition.

    The Cardinals earned a proficient rating and ranked third overall among the 12 bands in attendance.

    There are 60 members this year in the marching band. The show is entitled "What Goes Up." The band is under the direction of Stephen Bishop, with Madison Bishop as drum major.

  • CU again named one of top 100 universities in the south

    Joan C. McKinney

    Campbellsville University

    Campbellsville University has once again been named to the top 100 of top regional universities in the South, according to the U.S. News & World Report rankings, which were released Tuesday morning.

  • TCHS names Students of the Week


    Taylor County High School recently named its Students of the Week for the week of Sept. 8.

    They are freshman Elizabeth Rogers, sophomore Madison Lauer, junior Christine Vega and senior Brooke Kearney.

  • TCES names Leader in Me winners


    Taylor County Elementary School recently named its Leader in Me winners for the week of Sept. 1.

    They are Alexis Chappel, Joey Holloway, Landon Hicks, Jaden Li and Sarah Blakeman.

  • TCES students collecting soda tabs

    Taylor County Elementary School will begin collecting soda tabs again.

    The first collection date will be Sept. 26. The class collecting the most pounds will receive a treat for each month. The public is encouraged to collect as well.

    Class sponsors are needed.

    For more information, call Brandy McCubbin at (270) 403-2000.

  • School Menus for Sept 15-19

    Campbellsville Independent

    Sept. 15-19

    Monday - Mini corn dog, macaroni and cheese, sweat peas, fruit cocktail and milk.

    Tuesday - Chicken tetrazzini, tossed salad with tomatoes, baby carrots with dip, diced pears and milk.

    Wednesday - Taco salad with tortilla chips with salsa, shredded lettuce, diced tomatoes and shredded cheese, Spanish rice, pineapple tidbits and milk.

    Thursday - Pepperoni pizza, salad, corn, applesauce, graham cracker and milk.

  • Head Start participating in food program

    Lake Cumberland Community Action Agency Head Start is now participating in the USDA Child and Adult Care Food Program administered by the Kentucky Department of Education.

    Meals will be served at no separate charge to enrolled participants at the center and are provided without regard to color, national origin, sex, age or disability.

  • CU faculty member appointed to state board

    Campbellsville University's Carver School of Social Work and Counseling faculty member, Dr. Karen Westbrooks, has been appointed to the Kentucky Board of Licensure for Marriage and Family Therapists.

    Kentucky Gov. Steve Beshear appointed Westbrooks to serve a four-year term on the Kentucky Board of Licensure for Marriage and Family Therapists.

    Westbrooks is associate MFT director and associate professor of counseling for the Louisville Education Center.

  • TCHS students win FCCLA awards


    After winning local and state competitions, Kyrsten Hill, Belinda Cheng and Ivy Neal traveled to the National Family, Community, Career, Leadership of America conference in San Antonio, Texas.

    At nationals, they presented their STAR Event, Portfolio in Review and gave a speech about their local FCCLA chapter at Taylor County High School. They took home silver medals.

    The girls were among 7,500 other teens from all across America.