• CU faculty member appointed to state board

    Campbellsville University's Carver School of Social Work and Counseling faculty member, Dr. Karen Westbrooks, has been appointed to the Kentucky Board of Licensure for Marriage and Family Therapists.

    Kentucky Gov. Steve Beshear appointed Westbrooks to serve a four-year term on the Kentucky Board of Licensure for Marriage and Family Therapists.

    Westbrooks is associate MFT director and associate professor of counseling for the Louisville Education Center.

  • TCHS students win FCCLA awards


    After winning local and state competitions, Kyrsten Hill, Belinda Cheng and Ivy Neal traveled to the National Family, Community, Career, Leadership of America conference in San Antonio, Texas.

    At nationals, they presented their STAR Event, Portfolio in Review and gave a speech about their local FCCLA chapter at Taylor County High School. They took home silver medals.

    The girls were among 7,500 other teens from all across America.

  • TCES names Writers of the Week


    Taylor County Elementary School recently named its Writers of the Week for the week of Aug. 29.

    They are kindergartener Adelynn Port, first-grader Sophia Aman, second-grader Alex Kingsbury, third-grader Dayne Graham, fourth-grader Dalton Robertson and fifth-grader Mercede Bright.

  • Art and conservation writing contest begins

    The Kentucky Association of Conservation Districts, in partnership with Kentucky Farm Bureau, announces the beginning of the 2014 Jim Claypool Art and Conservation Writing Contest titled, “The Soil Daily Times.”

    Students across the state will use a soil theme to create art and essays to urge their audience toward good soil conservation practices. County, area and state winners will be chosen through the local conservation districts.

  • TCHS names Students of the Week


    Taylor County High School recently named its Students of the Week for the week of Sept. 2.

    They are freshman Lauren Williams, sophomore Raylee Perkins, junior Kayla Rodgers, and senior Jilly Benningfield.

  • TCMS announces Student Leaders of the Week


    Taylor County Middle School recently announced its Student Leaders of the Week for the week of Sept. 5.

    They are Brennan Parker, Devon Kiskaden, Logan Bricken, Lane Sapp, Chelsey Adcock and Jarrett Perkins.

  • School Menus for Sept 8-12

    Campbellsville Independent

    Sept. 8-12

    Monday - Cheeseburger on bun with pickles and onions, baked fries, coleslaw, peaches and milk.

    Tuesday - Breaded chicken patty, mashed potatoes, peas and carrots, mandarin oranges and milk.

    Wednesday - Bosco pizza stick, garden salad, corn, sidekick smoothies and milk.

    Thursday - Chicken nuggets, broccoli casserole, seasoned carrots, fruit cocktail and milk.

  • Two CHS students graduate from Rogers Scholars program


    Campbellsville High School students MaKenzie Murrell and Paige Dabney graduated this summer from The Center for Rural Development's Rogers Scholars program.

    Rogers Scholars is an intensive one-week summer leadership program that provides opportunities for high school students in Southern and Eastern Kentucky to receive the skills they need to become the region's next generation of business and entrepreneurial leaders. Seventeen colleges and universities partner with The Center to offer exclusive college scholarships to Rogers Scholars graduates.

  • CU ranked 'fourth most affordable'

    Linda Waggener

    Campbellsville University

    Campbellsville University has been ranked fourth among the top 50 most affordable Christian colleges in the United States by the independent researchers of Christian Universities Online.

    Christian Universities Online is an independent online resource that researches and ranks Christian higher education in the United States. In addition, it provides reviews, information about Christian scholarships and financial aid, along with other resources for students.

  • TCMS names Leader in Me winners


    Taylor County Middle School recently announced its Leader in Me award winners for the week of Aug. 25.

    They are Allie Leanardson, Kailey Petty, Destiny Deason, Hayley Burress, Amerilee Lowe and Chris Satterly.