• TCMS students visit Shaker Village


    Taylor County Middle School students visited Shaker Village on Saturday, Sept. 27.

  • Commission seeks citizenship nominations, essays, poetry, artwork

    The Martin Luther King Jr. State Commission, part of the Governor's Office of Minority Empowerment, is seeking nominations for the annual Martin Luther King Jr. Citizenship Award, along with essays and artwork for the King Award.

    Building upon Dr. King's passion and leadership, the Martin Luther King Jr. State Commission offers students a chance to creatively express ways to work together to generate opportunities to better themselves and society as a whole with art and essay contests.

  • Residents receives white coat during ceremony

    Morgan Murrell, a first-year student at the University of Kentucky College of Dentistry, participated in the White Coat Ceremony on Friday, Sept. 6, in UK's Memorial Hall.

    During the ceremony, Murrell and 66 other students, including 40 Kentuckians, received white coats representing their entry into the dental profession as student dentists.

    Dental faculty also welcomed students to the dental profession as colleagues and challenged them to make a commitment toward gaining the knowledge and compassion necessary to become outstanding dentists.

  • A Wise Choice Daycare participating in food program

    A Wise Choice Daycare is now participating in the USDA Child and Adult Care Food Program administered by the Kentucky Department of Education.

    Meals will be served at no separate charge to enrolled participants at the center and are provided without regard to color, national origin, sex, age or disability.

    Participants eligible for free and/or reduced price meals must have a completed application with documentation of eligibility information, which may include a SNAP or K-TAP case number or names of household members and income information.

  • CMS student lighthouse team named


    Campbellsville Middle School has named its student lighthouse team.

    The team is a representation of two students from each grade level at CMS. Students went through an application process to be chosen.

    The team will be responsible for helping implement and develop the Leader in Me program at CMS.

    Team members are Brainna Hayes, Zoi McAninch, Kaynlyn Smith, Dakota Slone, Sarah Adkins, Zaquan Cowen, Lauryn Agathen, Caliegh Bright, Brandon Greer and Natasha Combs.

  • TCMS names Leaders of the Week


    Taylor County Middle School Student Leaders of the Week for the week of Oct. 13 are Hannah Phillips, Amelia Bowen, Rylee Vaughn, Ariel Mattingly, Drew Woodcox and Jadin Sturgill.

  • CU professor receives award


    Kasey Ricketts

    Campbellsville University

    Twyla Hernandez, assistant professor of Christian missions, was presented with the Non-Tenured Faculty Award at Campbellsville University recently.

    Hernandez, who has been employed at CU since 2011, was presented the award by Dr. Michael V. Carter, president, and Dr. Frank Cheatham, senior vice president for academic affairs, at the first chapel of the semester.

  • School Menus for Oct. 13-17

    Campbellsville Independent

    Oct. 13-17

    Monday - Cheeseburger on bun with pickles and onions, baked fries, coleslaw, peaches and milk.

    Tuesday - Breaded chicken patty, mashed potatoes, peas and carrots, mandarin oranges and milk.

    Wednesday - Bosco pizza stick, garden salad, corn, sidekick smoothies and milk.

    Thursday - Chicken nuggets, broccoli casserole, seasoned carrots, fruit cocktail and milk.

  • TCES names Leader in Me winners


    Taylor County Elementary School recently named its Leader in Me award winners for the week of Sept. 22.

    They are Cameron Burton, Hayden Heseman, Kaylie Allen, Peyton Godsey and Lylah Curry.

  • TCES names Writers of the Week


    Taylor County Elementary School recently named its Writers of the Week for the week of Sep. 26.

    They are kindergartener John Zottman, second-graders Daelan Nichols and Thomas Fritz, third-grader Hayden Hessman and fifth-grader Maggie Rigsby.