Today's Features


    James and Abbie Mings of Campbellsville were recently surprised with a trip to celebrate their 50th wedding anniversary. They were married on Nov. 22, 1963.

    The Mingses have three children, Michael Mings and his wife, Heather; Rhonda Burns and her husband, Barry; and Kevin Mings and his wife, Cheryl.

    They also have seven grandchildren, Zack and Drake Mings, Landon and Shane Burns and Jaycee, Sydney and Ethan Mings.



    Dec. 11, 2003

    For the first time in 36 years, a Republican placed his hand on the Bible to take the oath of office as governor of the commonwealth of Kentucky. Gov. Ernie Fletcher and Lt. Gov. Steve Pence officially took the oath of Kentucky's top offices shortly after midnight on Dec. 9 and again in a ceremonial public swearing-in Tuesday afternoon.

    The 2003 Worldwide Candle Lighting will be Sunday, Dec. 14.



    Dec. 4, 2003

    Samuel Randolph Sapp, 71, of Red Fern Road in Campbellsville, died on Sunday, Nov. 23, 2003, in Louisville, Ky.

    Emily Beth Skaggs and Ryan Chase Hatfield exchanged wedding vows on Saturday, June 14, at Mount Roberts Baptist Church in Campbellsville.

    Dot Caldwell, R.N., has been named the Taylor Regional Hospital ambassador for October 2003.


    Missy Herron and Jarrod Heath of Campbellsville were married on Oct. 10 at the Marion and Frances Davenport Estate.

    Olivia Herron served as her mother's maid of honor. Herron's son Jackson gave her away and served as a groomsman.

    Herron is the daughter of Tommy and Barbara Davenport of Campbellsville.

    Heath's son Weston served as best man. His daughter Meredith Burns was a bridesmaid.

    Heath is the son of Pat and Beverly Heath of Hodgenville.

  • Faun and Brandon Crenshaw of Campbellsville announce the birth of a daughter, Keely Ayne Crenshaw, at 12:12 p.m. on July 25 at Spring View Hospital in Lebanon. She weighed 4 pounds, 12.5 ounces and was 18 inches long.

    Grandparents are Theresa and Mitch Collings of Greensburg, JoAyne and Ken Keltner of Campbellsville and Gary Crenshaw of Lebanon.

    Great-grandparents are Eddie Mae and the Rev. Ralph Lobb of Greensburg, Margie and Harvey Brumfield of Burgin, Denise and Dennis Johnson of Roswell, Ga., Doyle Crenshaw of Lebanon and Lola Crenshaw of Glasgow.


    Taylor Regional Hospital had its annual service award presentation on Nov. 7 at Campbellsville University.

    The Quarter Century Club, retirees, legend and hero award winners were also honored.

    Several physicians were recognized for their years of service, including Dr. James A. Ewing, 41 years; Dr. Bobby Brooks, 38 years; Dr. Eugene Shively, 36 years; Dr. James Angel, 32 years; Dr. Winit Chartisathian, 32 years; Dr. James Dunnington, 28 years; Dr. Joel Eade, 28 years and Dr. Stephen Hinton, 26 years.


    Nov. 27, 2003

    Stoy and Hazel Warren will celebrate their 40th anniversary on Sunday, Nov. 30.

    For the second consecutive year, former Taylor County High School and current University of Kentucky golfer John Holmes has won the Kentucky Golf Association's Player of the Year Award.

  • Jose Soriano

    Campbellsville University

    Campbellsville University's ninth annual Tapestry Concert, its "gift to the community," will be at Ransdell Chapel on Friday, Dec. 6, at 7 p.m. The event is free and open to the public.

    "This concert, which includes performances by almost all of the School of Music, is considered a 'gift to the community,'" Dr. Lisa McArthur, professor of music, said.


    Caitlin Anne Welch, formerly of Campbellsville, and André Francois van Schalkwyk announce their engagement.

    Welch is the daughter of Lauri Welch of Campbellsville and Bill Welch of Tuscaloosa, Ala.

    She is a 2003 graduate of Taylor County High School and a 2009 graduate of the University of Louisville. Welch is employed at Signature Healthcare in Louisville.


    From houses and parks to fortresses for superheroes and police officers, the possibilities were endless. Forty local children entered this year's Lego contest at Taylor County Public Library.

    Judges selected their favorite entries and patrons were asked to vote for their top creations. There were three age categories of competition, ages 3 to 7, 8 to 12 and 13-17.

    Winner in the 3 to 7 category was Zachary Akin. Runner-up was Noah Leachman and crowd favorite was Evan Finn.