Wilgus receives tenured faculty award

-A A +A
By The Staff

Dr. Mary Wilgus, professor of history and dean of the College of Arts and Sciences, received the Tenured Faculty Award recently at Campbellsville University.

Wilgus has served Campbellsville University since 1997 as chair of the Social Science Division and professor of history. In 2001, she was appointed as dean of the College of Arts and Sciences. During the same year, she was named Woman of the Year at the annual Business and Professional Women's breakfast. She has also been the recipient of CU's Student Government Association Challenger Award.

Before coming to Campbellsville, she was professor and chair of the Social Sciences Division at Lee's-McRae College from 1985 to 1997, and an adjunct history instructor at MTSU from 1983 to 1985.

Wilgus serves both the university and the community through her involvement with CU's Academic and Graduate Councils, the Centennial Planning Committee, the City of Campbellsville Ethics Committee, the Planning Committee on Earth Stewardship Conference Series and Kentucky Heartland Institute on Public Policy Advisory Committee.

She also chairs the WEL committee, serves as director and coordinator for Dialogue on Race and directs CU's involvement in Green, Taylor and Campbellsville Middle School Leadership programs.

She and her husband Jim have five children; Connie, J. Robert, Susan, Jo Ann and Jennifer.