Technology students compete at state

-A A +A
By The Staff

Students from Taylor County Schools participated in the 2008 Student Technology Leadership Program's State Competition May 6-7 at Rupp Arena in Lexington.

Students from Taylor County High School and Taylor County Elementary School placed in the "Best of Group."

TCHS senior Trevor McWhorter won second place in the digital school publication division.

Taylor County High School students Zach Cox and Josh Sullivan and Marion County High School student Jamie Evans won the International ThinkQuest Award.

Linda E. Beal, director of technology for Taylor County Schools, was awarded the STLP Ambassador Award.

Hannah L. Rash was recognized as an Outstanding STLP Alumni. She is a 2004 graduate of Taylor County High School. She earned an associate's degree from Lindsey Wilson College and is the reading computer lab instructional assistant at Taylor County Middle School. Rash was one of the first in the state to participate in STLP at the local, regional, state, and national levels.

TCHS STLP student Dustin Cox also entered the competition with a demonstration on school safety. (not pictured)

Carla Bennett, Norma Simpson Earldeen Smith are the STLP advisers.