TCHS DECA qualifies for State DECA Conference

-A A +A
By The Staff

Twenty-eight Taylor County High School DECA members competed at the Region III DECA Career Conference on Jan. 31.

The following students brought home these awards:

First place winners: Marissa Hazard, Business Services Marketing; Wesley Parker, Food Marketing; Scott Blakeman, Marketing Management; and Greg Manning, Sports & Entertainment Marketing.

Second place winners: Fabian Wendler, Kentucky Travel & Tourism; Alex Franklin, Business Services Marketing; Donald White, Food Marketing; Hayley Kirtley and Chelsea Nicholas, Creative Marketing Research Project; and Bill McCullough and Cheyenne Farris, Entrepreneurship Written Event.

Third place winners: Brittany Goode and Katlin Woodrum, Internet Management Decision Making Team.

Fourth place winner: Miles Murray, Restaurant & Food Service Management.

Fifth place winners: Tyler Cross, Kentucky Sports & Entertainment Marketing; Heather Bentley, Apparel & Accessories Marketing; Ben Elmore and Tara Hancock, Hospitality Services Management Decision Making Team; David Chappel and Traci Gaddie, Travel & Tourism Marketing Management Decision Making Team; and Emily Brady, Entrepreneurship Written Event.

Demetria Sullivan was elected and sworn into office as Region III DECA Historian for the 2008-2009 school year.

The winners will advance to State DECA Conference in Louisville on March 2-4.