Some teachers will return

-A A +A
By The Staff

Staff Report

Several Taylor County teachers who received non-renewal letters last month will return to their jobs.

During the Taylor County Board of Education's regular meeting on June 10, Superintendent Gary Seaborne presented a list of employees who will return to the District.

Last month, 33 classified and certified staff members received non-renewal notices. Of those, 10 certified and one classified staff members will return, Seaborne said. If revenues improve, he said, the District would like to bring back as many as possible.

Returning are: Rhonda Watson, TCMS classified; LaTonya DelaGarza, Brandi Graham, Angela Rakes and Tonya Rogers, all TCES certified, and Stephen Bishop, Brandon Centers, Andy Close, Allison Cox, Brandon Gupton and Jennifer Walker, all TCHS certified.

Also on the agenda:

- The Board tabled the 2008-2009 extra service salary schedule. Board members requested more time to look it over. The schedule does include some cuts made necessary by state budget problems, Seaborne said. On average, workdays were reduced two days to 240. The athletics director's salary was cut $500 while the middle school deleted a dance coach position and the football program lost an assistant coach. The band director's position received the biggest cut in days from 242 to 215.

- The Board approved its 125-student tuition and exchange agreement with Campbellsville Independent Schools. Under the agreement, students pay a small tuition fee to attend a school that is outside their district. For the first time in several years, 100 percent of the District's tuition students have paid. Seaborne said there is often one or two who haven't paid by the end of the school year.

u The District's 2007-2008 dropout rate was .59 percent. There were 16 dropouts during the school year, Superintendent Gary Seaborne said. The state average was 3.3 percent.

"We're not proud of it until it says zero, but it could be a lot worse."

- A contract with Campbellsville Independent Schools to provide alternative school services was approved, with Vice Chairwoman Lillian Clark voting "no." Other contracts approved were with the Kentucky School Board Association for Medicaid reimbursement services, Green County Board of Education for vision-impaired student services and Progressive Speech for speech therapy.

- The Board approved a $300,000 bond for Seaborne and Finance Officer Marci Close to serve as co-treasurers. The Board also approved Citizen's Bank and Trust Co. as the official depository for the District with Forcht Bank serving as secondary depository.

- Doug Rodgers of Reed Brothers Insurance asked the Board to consider a change of agent of record. Last year, the District approved a bid from Curneal & Hignite Insurance of Elizabethtown to write the District's coverage through Indiana Insurance. Reed Brothers is also an Indiana Insurance agent, Rodgers said.

Seaborne said he would look into the request and the Board was expected to revisit it at a special meeting last Thursday.

- The Board approved the 2008-2009 Comprehensive Improvement Plan as presented by Susan Kilby.

- The Board approved a medical leave for Diane Walters, TCES instructional assistant.

- Seaborne notified the Board of the following personnel actions.

Retirements - Dorene Thompson, speech/language pathologist; Inflice Milby, TCES custodian; Dale Furkin, TCHS vice principal; and Denny Hedgespeth, maintenance supervisor.

Resignations - Jeff Gumm, assistant boys' basketball coach; and Matthew Arnold, head soccer coach.

New hires - Donnie Thompson, TCMS day custodian; Faye Burton, TCMS dishwasher; Chassity Wright, TCHS English teacher; Dawn Flinchum, TCHS head academic team coach; Carla Kemp, assistant academic team coach; Cristian Coloma, TCHS head boys' soccer coach; and Brandon Centers, TCHS assistant boys' soccer coach.

Reassignment - Jeff Gumm, TCHS athletics director.