Ready to do some traveling

-A A +A

Tournament locations for next few years

By Bobby Brockman


It seems like this year there were more than the normal folks who were trying to sell their tickets for the SEC Tournament.
Usually an SEC Tournament in Nashville means a hard buy with the University of Kentucky dominating the arena.
Looking ahead, the SEC men’s tournament will return to Bridgestone Arena in 2015, 2016 and 2019 after going back to the Georgia Dome in Atlanta next March. (There hasn’t been a site determined for 2017 and 2018).
After going to Madison Square Garden the last several years with the Big East Tournament, it’s not known where University of Louisville fans will migrate to in their last season in the yet-to-be-named Metro Conference.
Rumors circulate that it could be Hartford, Conn., Cincinnati, Memphis or Philadelphia.
It is known that when U of L goes to the ACC in 2014-15, both the men’s and women’s tournament are scheduled for Greensboro, N.C.
It was convenient for U of L to be able to play in Rupp Arena this year, just like it was for UK to play in the KFC Yum! Center in 2012.
The NCAA second- and third-round games return to Louisville in 2015.
Next year’s early-round sites will be Buffalo, Milwaukee, Raleigh, Orlando, St. Louis, San Antonio, San Diego and Spokane with regionals set for Madison Square Garden, Indianapolis, Memphis and Anaheim.
Next year’s Final Four is slated for Cowboys Stadium in North Texas with Indianapolis’ Lucas Oil Stadium getting it in 2015 and Houston’s Reliant Stadium in 2016.
By the way, the Women’s Final Four comes to Nashville and Bridgestone Arena in 2014, Tampa Bay in 2015 and Indianapolis in 2016.

Eight is the number
Eight seems to be a big number in Commonwealth hoops.
• The University of Kentucky has won eight men’s basketball national championships.
• And, after Tuesday night, the University of Louisville is one of only eight schools to have its men’s and women’s teams in the Final Four the same year.
Connecticut has sent both its men and women to Final Fours three times (2004, 2009, 2011), and Georgia (1983), Duke (1999), Oklahoma (2002), Texas (2003), Michigan State (2005) and LSU (2006) each accomplished the feat before U of L pulled it off this season.
Last thought: Wondering if the new Big East Conference will be as powerful a league as the old one in women’s and men’s basketball (five teams in current Final Fours)?

Future Tournament sites
20th District Baseball/Softball

2013    Adair County
2014    Campbellsville
2015    Marion County
2016    Taylor County
Fifth Region Baseball
2013    North Hardin
2014    Central Hardin
2015    Nelson County
2016    Hart County
Fifth Region Softball
2013    Nelson County
2014    Washington County
2015    John Hardin
2016    Hart County
2017    North Hardin
20th District Basketball
2014    Campbellsville
2015    Marion County
2016    Taylor County
2017    Adair County
Fifth Region Basketball
2014    (girls) Nelson County
2014    (boys) Marion County
2015    (girls) North Hardin
2015    (boys) Green County
2016    (girls) Hart County
2016    (boys) Nelson County
2017    (girls) Marion County
Kentucky High School Girls’ State Basketball
Diddle Arena in Bowling Green

2014    March 12-15
2015    March 11-14
2016    March 9-12
2017    March 8-11
2018    March 7-10
Kentucky High School Boys’ State Basketball
Rupp Arena in Lexington

2014    March 19-22
2015    March 18-21
2016    March 16-19
2017    March 15-18
2018    March 14-17
SEC Men’s Basketball

2014    Atlanta
2015    Nashville
2016    Nashville
2017    To be announced
2018    To be announced
2019    Nashville
American Athletic Conference Basketball
2014    To be announced
ACC Men’s/Women’s Basketball
2015    Greensboro
NCAA Men’s Final Four
2014    Cowboys Stadium, North Texas
(Regionals at Madison Square Garden, Indianapolis, Memphis, Anaheim)
(Second-third-round sites of Buffalo, Milwaukee, Raleigh, Orlando,
St. Louis, San Antonio, San Diego, Spokane)
2015    Lucas Oil Stadium, Indianapolis
(Regionals at Syracuse, Cleveland, Houston and Los Angeles)
(Second-third-round sites of Pittsburgh, Charlotte, Columbus,
Jacksonville, Louisville, Omaha, Portland, Seattle)
2016    Reliant Stadium, Houston
NCAA Women’s Final Four
2014    Nashville
2015    Tampa Bay
2016    Indianapolis