Proposed grid set-up for 2015 looks good

-A A +A

For Eagles and Cardinals

By Bobby Brockman


If the proposed high school football alignment holds up next month the schedule, the district opponents for the local teams will be a relief.
Campbellsville, whose current foes are two-hour drives to Berea, Lynn Camp and Williamsburg, is proposed to keep Berea and add Bethlehem, Caverna and Fort Knox.
If that district stays the same, and scuttlebutt has it that Berea may ask for an assignment closer to home, the fifth-place team will not qualify for the play-offs.
Taylor County, which has not made the play-offs under the current set-up, will stay in a loop with Marion County and Mercer County, but will replace powers Boyle County and Lexington Catholic with East Jessamine and West Jessamine.
While still not being guaranteed of a post-season berth, the chances greatly increase for the Cardinals.
The Eagles, who normally head toward eastern Kentucky in the Class A play-offs, will instead by opposite western Kentucky foes Russellville, Crittenden County, Fulton City and Fulton County.
Taylor County’s opposite district foes in Class 4A will be Clay County, Knox Central, Rockcastle County, Russell County and Wayne County.
Campbellsville district opponents
2014    2015-18
Berea    Berea
Lynn Camp    Bethlehem
Williamsburg    Caverna
    Fort Knox
Taylor County district opponents
2014    2015-18
Boyle County    East Jessamine
Lexington Catholic    Marion County
Marion County    Mercer County
Mercer County    West Jessamine

Some other interesting moves are:
• Mayfield moves up to Class 2A, Bardstown goes to Class 3A and Highlands is now in 5A.
• Boyle County and Lexington Catholic move down to Class 3A while John Hardin is in Class 4A.
• Area teams of interest have Adair County and LaRue County in a Class 3A district with Edmonson County, Elizabethtown and Hart County.
• Washington County’s Class 2A district will consist of Christian Academy, DeSales and Shawnee.
• Monroe County moves back into Green County’s Class 2A district with Clinton County, Glasgow and Metcalfe County.
• Casey County’s Class 3A district will have Bell County, Corbin, Jackson County and McCreary Central.
• Bardstown’s Class 3A district will also have Central, Moore, Thomas Nelson and Waggener.