Nominations sought for 2008 Kentucky history awards

-A A +A
By The Staff

The Kentucky Historical Society and the Historical Confederation of Kentucky are seeking nominations for the 2008 Kentucky History Awards.

The awards acknowledge outstanding achievements in the field of history by individuals, civic leaders, communities, museums and historical organizations.

The awards celebrate outstanding programs, exhibits, Web sites and publications, as well as individuals who have excelled in the field or made lifetime contributions to the preservation, awareness and appreciation of Kentucky's history.

"The Kentucky History Awards program is one of our most important annual programs as it is our chance to recognize the great work being done in the field of history throughout the state," says Chris Goodlett, administrator of the Historical Confederation of Kentucky. "The Historical Confederation of Kentucky and the Kentucky Historical Society are proud to sponsor such a wonderful event."

Award categories include Service Awards, Special Awards and General Awards. Within these categories are the President's Award of Excellence, which is presented to a museum or organization for outstanding achievement throughout the year; the Frank R. Levstik Award for Professional Service honoring the contributions of a current or recently retired paid staff member of a museum or history-related organization; and the Lifetime Dedication to Kentucky History Award, among other honors. Nominations must be submitted by Jan. 25.

The awards will be presented at the Kentucky History Awards dinner at the Thomas D. Clark Center for Kentucky History in Frankfort on Saturday, March 1.

For more information or for a nomination packet, contact Ann Johnson at the Kentucky Historical Society at (502) 564-1792, Ext. 4404.

The Historical Confederation of Kentucky is a member-driven organization that provides support, technical assistance, workshops, seminars, marketing opportunities and advocacy efforts for museums and historical organizations in the commonwealth.