Next arts series' event is May 3

-A A +A
By The Staff

The next Central Kentucky Arts Series event on Saturday, May 3 will feature saxophonist Ashu.

Ashu's performance, the fourth in the 2008 arts series, will begin at 7 p.m. at Campbellsville First United Methodist Church.

Ashu will be accompanied by pianist Kuang-Hao Huang.

Concert saxophonist Ashu, 26, has continually defied conventions, winning major international and national competitions traditionally won by pianists and violinists. He made his recital debut at Carnegie Hall's Weill Hall in New York and, at 16, made his concerto debut at DAR Constitution Hall in Washington, D.C. Since then, concerto and recital performances have taken him throughout the United States and Europe.

With a dynamic style that captivates audiences and a repertoire ranging from original soprano and alto saxophone works by Debussy, Ibert and Villa-Lobos to his own arrangements of Morricone, Rachmaninoff and Piazzola, Ashu has shown that the concert saxophone can reach beyond stylistic categorization and to a large diversity of people.

His playing has been described as "Riveting ... Brilliant ... Pizzazz to burn!" (National Public Radio Performance Todayhost) and " ... just as much fun to watch him as it is to listen to him." (Dallas Morning News).

Born and raised in California, Ashu began playing the saxophone at age 10. His love for performing quickly became apparent and he began entering various competitions. He has won many prizes.

He has toured as concert soloist with symphony orchestras throughout the world. Upcoming engagements include concert tours and performances at music festivals throughout Europe, New Zealand, Australia, the Baltic and the United States. Ashu received his bachelor and master of music degrees in saxophone performance from Northwestern University and is currently based in the Chicago area.

For more information, visit www.ashuonline.com.

Pianist Kuang-Hao Huang has performed throughout Europe and the United States and as a soloist with the New World Symphony Orchestra and Northwestern University Symphony Orchestra. In March 2000, he premiered two works as part of Carnegie Hall's Millennium Book Project. Huang is an active collaborator, regularly performing with members of the Chicago Symphony Orchestra and the Chicago Chamber Musicians.

Admission to the performance is by arts series membership or by purchasing tickets at the door at $10 for adults and $3 for children and students.

For more information, contact Joan Johnson at 465-8454 or by e-mail at paulandjoan@windstream.net.