New-look youth baseball leagues start play Saturday

-A A +A

Leagues divided from 9-12-year-old loops to 11-12- and 9-10-year-old separate divisions

By Bobby Brockman


Little League Baseball started in 1956 in Campbellsville, but for the first time in 58 years there will be separate divisions of the 9-12-year-old classes.
The first decade or so, games in the four-team league (Cardinals, Indians, Redlegs and Yankees) were played near Campbellsville High School before moving to the Durham Campus and eventually to the complex at Robert and Bernice Miller Park in 1968.
In the first season at Miller Park, the eight teams were the Cardinals, Cubs, Indians, Mets, Reds, White Sox, Twins and Yankees.
The Campbellsville Youth Baseball board first decided to go with a 10-12-year-old set-up before a threat to split into another local Little League caused the change to today’s modification of a 11-12-year-old league and a 9-10-year-old division.
There will be five teams in each league in the 9-12-year-old division.
The Pee Wee League, which was going to switch to include 9-year-olds, remains the same with 7- and 8-year-old players in the six-team league.
Tee Ball League also stays intact with 5- and 6-year-olds in the 10-squad loop and the Wee Ball League, with four squads, is still for 4-year-olds.
Opening Day is scheduled for this Saturday with games beginning at noon on four fields. Pee Wee play starts at 1:45.
Rosters and schedules for all five leagues appear in the April 14 Central Kentucky News-Journal or at cvilleyouthbaseball.com.