Napier picks up second-team A-A accolades

-A A +A

Lady Tiger shortstop goes out with a bang

By CU Press Release


Emma Napier’s outstanding senior campaign continues to collect accolades, as the Campbellsville University senior shortstop has been named an NAIA Second Team All-American, the national office announced Sunday.
Napier, a native of Scottsville, led Campbellsville to a fourth place finish at the NCCAA Tournament while leading the Tigers in hitting with a .435 batting average, batting a remarkable .513 in March. She also led the team with 84 base hits, 65 runs scored, 18 doubles, three triples, 14 home runs and 22 stolen bases. She was second on her team with 43 runs batted in.
A three-time all-conference performer, Napier ranked eighth in the NAIA in runs scored and base hits. She was also 15th in home runs.
Napier is one of two Mid-South Conference players to receive NAIA All-America Second Team honors, joined by Lindsey Wilson College’s Kristina Krupinski. St. Catharine College’s Hagan Goldey received an honorable mention. The NAIA Player of the Year honor went to Lee University’s Dominique Hannah, who hit .482 on the season with 93 hits, 150 total bases, 22 doubles, 30 walks and nine home runs. She scored a team-high 63 runs.
In addition to being named an NAIA Second Team All-American, Napier was named an NCCAA All-American in May after being named the NCCAA Mid-East Region Co-Player of the Year. In April, Napier was named a First Team All-Conference selection and the Mid-South Conference Player of the Year after helping CU to a 25-5 in-conference record and share of the program’s first regular season title since 2009. CU finished the season with a school record for wins at 43-17.
Napier graduated summa cum laude in May with a bachelor’s of arts in business after maintaining a 3.93 GPA. Her academic and athletic success earned her the honor of the 2012-13 Capitol One College Division Academic All-American of the Year for softball. She is a finalist for the overall Capitol One College Division Academic All-American of the Year award, which will be announced in August.