Marion girls, John Hardin boys repeat as region champs

-A A +A

John Hardin plays on Thursday, Marion next Wednesday

By Bobby Brockman

For the first time since 2003, the girls’ and boys’ have repeat champions.
Marion County won its fourth title and eighth overall with an 82-60 triumph over LaRue County on Tuesday night at Green County. Three days earlier, John Hardin bested North Hardin 64-51 for its second crown and third overall at Hart County.
John Hardin’s toughest foe was probably first-round opponent Bardstown. After a 68-64 squeaker over the Tigers, the Bulldogs bested LaRue County 74-59 in the semi-finals before conquering the rival Trojans for the title.
John Hardin (28-3), which has not lost a game since late December, plays 10th-Region champion Fleming County in a first-round state tournament game today at 6:30 in Rupp Arena. With a win, the Bulldogs face Warren Central-Montgomery winner on Friday at 6:30.
Marion County became the only Fifth Region school, girls or boys, to put together a four-year, regional championship run.
The Lady Knights’ only real test came in the semi-finals when they trailed Elizabethtown 26-25 at the half before pulling away for a 65-43 victory. Marion County had won its last three regions vs. the Lady Panthers after dropping the 2009 title game to E-town.
Trent Milby, the Naismith National Girls’ High School Coach of the Year, and his Marion County squad rolled over Washington County 87-23 in the opening round and upended LaRue County for the title on Tuesday.
The Lady Knights (35-0) plays Fourth-Region champion Bowling Green (30-4) in next Wednesday’s opening tilt of the Girls’ State Tournament at Diddle Arena and the campus of Western Kentucky University.


Fifth Region Basketball All-Tourney teams

Makyala Epps    Marion County
Kyvin Goodin-Rogers    Marion County
Haeli Howard    Marion County
Logan Powell    Marion County
Patrice Tonge    Marion County
Alexis Brewer    LaRue County
Ivy Brown    LaRue County
Haley Holt    LaRue County
Erin Boley    Elizabethtown
Reauna Cleaver    Elizabethtown
Cierra Drake    Nelson County
A.J. Lewis    Nelson County
Katie Keltner    Adair County
Madison Faulkner    Caverna
Tamiah Stanford    North Hardin
MVP    Makayla Epps (Marion County)
Patrick Anderson    John Hardin
Daveon Greene    John Hardin
Brandon Price    John Hardin
Keon Williams    John Hardin
Ruben Gosa    North Hardin
Tyler Landry    North Hardin
Scotty Sterusky    North Hardin
Jordan Cooper-Livers    Bethlehem
Harrison Rogers    Bethlehem
Kelton Ford    LaRue County
Tyler Howell    LaRue County
Chance Melton    Adair County
Marcus Cosby    Bardstown
Mason Faulkner    Caverna
Quentin Goodin    Taylor County
Caleb Wigginton    Taylor County
MVP    Daveon Greene (John Hardin)