Lady Eagles claim Heartland tennis title

-A A +A
By The Staff

Meredith Haley won the singles' title while Alison Medders and Ashley Phillips finished second in doubles to power coach Carol Tucker's Campbellsville High School Lady Eagles to the Heartland Athletic Conference Tennis Tournament title on Tuesday at Miller Park.

The Lady Eagle doubles' team of Ariel Milby and Summer Montgomery also reached the semis.

Taylor County's Lady Cardinals were third as Kristina Hjelt lost to Haley in the championship and TCHS' Jessica Seaborne fell in the semis.

Marion County won the boys' team championship with Taylor County finishing second.

Greg Manning and Levi Richardson were runners-up in doubles while Weston Dicken made it to the singles' semifinals for the Cardinals and Jordan Antle and Tyler Thomas were in the doubles' semis.

Campbellsville and Taylor County meet in a regular-season match this afternoon at Miller Park.


Team results - Campbellsville 9, Marion County 6, Taylor County 5, Adair County 2, Washington County 0.



Meredith Haley (C) def. A. Spalding (WC) 6-0, 6-1.

Jessica Seaborne (TC) def. Begley (MC) 5-7, 6-3, 6-4.

Kristina Hjelt (TC) def. Anna Haley (C) 6-0, 6-1.

Simmons (MC) def. S. White (WC) 6-2, 3-6, 6-4.


Meredith Haley (C) def. Jessica Seaborne (TC) 6-0, 6-0.

Kristina Hjelt (TC) def. Simmons (MC) 6-4, 6-3.


Meredith Haley (C) def. Kristina Hjelt (TC) 6-3, 6-2.



Spalding/Mattingly (MC) def. Krissy Shirrell/Lacy Mudd (TC) 6-1, 6-1.

Ariel Milby/Summer Montomgery (C) def. Wallace/Feese (AC).

Price/Chafin (AC) def. Holt/Cassidy (MC) 6-2, 6-2.

Alison Medders/Ashley Phillips (C) def. Jefra Bland/Katlin McFee (TC) 6-2, 6-0.


Spalding/Mattingly (MC) def. Milby/Montgomery (C) 6-3, 6-3.

Medders/Phillips (C) def. Price/Chafin 6-0, 6-3.


Spalding/Mattingly (MC) def. Medders/Phillips 6-2, 6-3.


Team results - Marion County 11, Taylor County 7, Washington County 4, Campbellsville 0, Adair County 0.



W. George (MC) def. Bryce McDaniel (TC) 6-1, 6-3.

Bishop (WC) def. Bradley Harris (C) 6-4, 6-3.

J. George (MC) def. Kris Spegal (C) 6-1, 6-0.

Weston Dicken (C) def. T. Loy (AC) 6-1, 3-6, 6-3.


W. George (MC) def. Bishop (WC) 6-3, 6-4.

J. George (MC) def. Dicken (TC) 6-2, 6-1.



Greg Manning/Levi Richardson (TC) def. Hamilton/Otuki (MC) 6-4, 7-6 (7-4).

Spalding/Ganoa (WC) def. Ethan Bailey/Chris Milby 6-2, 6-1.

Manning/Mayo (MC) def. Mendoza/Byrd by default.

Jordan Antle/Tyler Thomas (TC) def. Ezell/Aaron (AC) 6-0, 1-0 (default).


Manning/Richardson (TC) def. Spalding/Ganoa (WC).

Manning/Mayo (MC) def. Antle/Thomas (TC) 6-2, 6-3.


Manning/Mayo (MC) def. Manning/Richardson (TC) 6-3, 2-6, 6-1.