Lady Cards' golf team back to state

-A A +A

After two-decade absence

By Bobby Brockman


It’s been over 20 years since Taylor County has had a girls’ golf team qualify for the KHSAA State Tournament.
Coach Cheris Young’s  group of Ellen Kehoe, Kayla Rodgers, Carlie Hazel, Sarah Dickens and Rylee Beard will join four other Lady Cardinal quartets, under four difference coaches, to accomplish the feat.
The only Taylor County girls’ team to win a regional title came under Fred Waddle in the spring of 1986. That team consisted of Beth Gorin, Kim Hayes, Lisa Jo Newcomb and Kaye Turpin with Allison Williams as the alternate.
Three other Lady Cardinal teams finished as runner-up to advance to state tournament competition.
• In the spring of 1989, Katie Jessie, Jenny Wells, Nikki Cunningham and Cindy Cunningham played for coach Darryl Atwell.
• Coach Troy Young also guided the group of Jessie, the Cunningham sisters and Stephanie Miller to a regional runner-up finish in the spring of 1990.
• David Parsons took over the reins when high school golf became a fall sport in 1990, as Young was coaching middle school football, with the quartet of Jessie, Miller, Cindy Cunningham and Storme Squires making the state scene after a second-place regional finish.
By the way, Parsons tells me the last Lady Cardinal to play in the girls’ state tournament, before Kehoe last season, would have been Lindsay Newton, also as an individual.
For the record, 12 Taylor County High School boys’ teams have played in the state golf tournament.
1986: Byron Bennett, Donnie Dabney, Jay Eastridge and Timmy Maupin. Coach: Fred Waddle.
1991: Greg Arnett, Bryne Beck, Jeremy Reynolds and Josh Wise. Coach: David Parsons.
1995: John Holmes, Adam Jessie, Nick Judd, Brandon Parsons and Brannon Taylor. Coach: David Parsons.
1996: John Holmes, Adam Jessie, Nick Judd, Brandon Parsons and Brannon Taylor. Coach: David Parsons.
1997: John Holmes, Brandon Parsons, Brannon Taylor, Jared Hines and Blake Jessie. Coach: David Parsons.
1999: John Holmes, Brandon Parsons, Blake Jessie, Josh Rose and Kyle Judd. Coach: David Parsons.
2000: John Holmes, Kyle Judd, Caleb Bell, Jeffrey Gumm and Jonathan Read. Coach: David Parsons.
2001: Caleb Bell, Jeffrey Gumm, Jonathan Read, Tyler Parsons and Jon Lawson. Coach: David Parsons.
2003: Jeffrey Gumm, Drew Hayes, Andrew Baise, Jon Lawson and Kyle Newton. Coach: David Parsons.
2004: Drew Hayes, Jon Lawson, Todd Polston, Jacob Richards, Andrew Baise. Coach: David Parsons.
2006: Cody Moore, Blake Brewer, Dillon Mays, Landon Newton and Tanner Keeton. Coach: David Parsons.
2008: Dillon Mays, Tanner Keeton, Landon Newton, Wade Cave and Nolan Slinker. Coach: David Parsons.
Notes: Holmes won the 1998 state title by making the field as an individual qualifier and played in six state tourneys. The Cardinals won regional titles in 1997, 1999, 2003-04 and 2006.
• The most successful girls’ run in high school golf in the county came from when Campbellsville High School’s Kaye Beard won three individual titles (1965-67-68) and the Lady Eagles’ took state titles in 1967-68.
Green County’s girls’ team took team titles in 2009-10 while the Dragon boys’ wore the crown in 1998.

Couple of why do we do these things in Major League Baseball?
I’ve always wondered why the American League has the designated hitter, but the National League does not.
Why would two leagues, both in the same Major League, have two different rules? I don’t know. It’s been that way since 1973, but it needs to be changed.
Also, why did the Pittsburgh Pirates have to play the Cincinnati Reds in a one-game play-off after they finished four games in front of them in the National League Central Division?
I know, that’s the rules. But, it’s stupid and so is a one-game play-off. One wild card team is enough.

Brown to ink with WKU
LaRue County basketball stand-out Ivy Brown will sign a national letter-of-intent to play collegiate basketball at Western Kentucky next month. One of the favorites for Kentucky’s Miss Basketball, Brown will join another former Fifth Region stand-out, sophomore Micah Jones, at WKU.