Keltner claims Super Late Model feature

-A A +A

At Bluegrass Speedway in Bardstown.

By Michael Despain

Jason Keltner of Campbellsville claimed his first 44 Auto Mart Super Late Model feature victory of the season on Saturday evening at Bluegrass Speedway to become the fifth different winner in the division so far in 2009.

Timmy Glazer of Bardstown scored the $300-to-win Street Stock special feature event while Jason Wheatley of Loretto was victorious in the Modified main event and Pat Hagan of New Haven won the WBRT 1320-AM Sportsman feature.

The 25-lap main event for the 44 Auto Mart Super Late Model division saw pole-sitter Keltner jump to the lead with Jeff Watson, Jarryd Holshouser, Rob Starkey and Daniel Hatcher in pursuit.

Keltner began to pull away immediately from the field while Watson did the same on the battle for third between Holshouser and Starkey. By lap 8, Keltner was beginning to work slower traffic and had opened his advantage over Watson to almost a full straightaway.

Holshouser slipped on lap 13 and lost third to Starkey with Hatcher sneaking by as well to go to fourth. Matthew Rigdon drew the first caution of the race when he spun on lap 14 in turn four.

The restart would be voided when Rigdon spun his machine in turn two and Keltner again pulled away a bit from Watson on the ensuing restart while Hatcher nipped at Starkey's heels for third.

Rigdon brought out the caution again with a spin in turn four and his night would be finished with the three-spin rule in effect.

Back underway, Keltner and Watson pulled away quickly from third-place Starkey, only to have the action slowed for the final time on lap 22 for a turn-two spin by Dylan Preston.

The final restart saw the event go green to the checkered flag with Keltner scoring the victory aboard the Terry Keltner-owned, Keltner Contracting/Hamilton Flooring/Zija International/Arizona Sport Shirts/Harrod Farms/Indiana Decal Company sponsored No. 0 Rocket Chassis, Draime Race Engines-powered machine.

Watson, Starkey, Hatcher and Holshouser completed the top five with the remainder of the Top 10 being Doodle Farris, Kevin Colston, Joey Tackett, Clarence Belcher and Joey Jones.

Keltner was top qualifier among 14 entries with a lap of 16.040 seconds and also won the dash with Colston winning the heat.