Journalism students bring home 11 awards from state contest

-A A +A
By The Staff

The Taylor County High School Journalism Department won 11 awards at the 2008 Kentucky High School Journalism Association State Contest on May 7 at the Clarion Conference Center in Louisville.

The school's 2007 yearbook, the Cardinal, finished third place overall in Class AAA behind Bowling Green and Louisville Assumption.

The school's broadcast, Taylor News Today, finished third overall in Class AAA behind Louisville Waggoner and South Oldham.

TCHS also received the following:

Yearbook Division - Theme Development, first place; Writing Style, second place; Overall Yearbook Design, second place; Yearbook Photography, second place; Cover Design, third place; and Overall Coverage, third place.

The 2007 yearbook editors were Sarah Cox and Bekah Garr.

Broadcast Division - Humorous Feature, first place; Spot Production, first place; and Newsmagazine, certificate of merit.