Holiday Classic runs Thursday-Saturday

-A A +A

At Campbellsville High School

By Bobby Brockman


The 19th annual Campbellsville High School Holiday Classic, sponsored by Campbellsville University, Murakami Manufacturing, then National Guard and H&W Sport Shop, consists of four Fifth Region teams paired up with teams from the Third, Fourth, Sixth and 12th Regions.
The host Eagles, who have won seven titles (1998, 2000, 2002-03, 2008-10) welcomes back cross-town rival Taylor County after a four-year absence. The Cardinals are making their ninth trip (eighth straight from 2001-08) to Paul J. Coop Gymnasium for the after-Christmas, eight-team, three-day showcase.
Green County’s Dragons, coached by former Adair County head man Keith Young, is back in the Classic for a seventh time while Washington County finished fourth in the 2002 tournament.
Warren East, coached by former Campbellsville University stand-out Casey Simpson, is the only out-of-region team to appear before as they placed fifth in the 2007 Classic and also was in the 2001 version.
Butler County, East Jessamine and Louisville Holy Cross are making their initial trip to the Campbellsville Holiday Classic.

Players to watch at the Classic
Colton Bush (Jr.)    Green County
Ronnie Carson (Jr.)    East Jessamine
Quentin Goodin (Soph.)    Taylor County
Dominique Mack (Sr.)    Holy Cross
Thomas Pettus (Sr.)    Washington County
Jack Schmitt (Sr.)    Holy Cross
David Sloan (Fr.)    Taylor County
Damontez Smith (Jr.)    Campbellsville
Brandon Walker (Sr.)    Warren East
Austin Webster (Jr.)    Taylor County
Caleb Wigginton (Sr.)    Taylor County
Zeke Woodcock (Sr.)    Butler County

Year-by-year champs
2012    Elizabethtown
2011    Covington Holmes
2010    Campbellsville
2009    Campbellsville
2008    Campbellsville
2007    Elizabethtown
2006    Central Hardin
2005    Madison Central
2004    Elizabethtown
2003    Campbellsville
2002    Campbellsville
2001    Elizabethtown
2000    Campbellsville
1999    Marion County
1998    Campbellsville
1997    Iroquois
1996    North Hardin
1995    Eastern

Year-by-year MVPs
2012    Zane Najdawi , Elizabethtown
2011    Dontel Rice, Covington Holmes
2010    Jordan Percell, Campbellsville
2009    Bryton Taylor, Campbellsville
2008    Bryton Taylor, Campbellsville
2007    Darius French, Elizabethtown
2006    Andre Miller, Central Hardin
2005    Aaron Morris, Madison Central
2004    Todd Atcher, Elizabethtown
2003    Robert Rich, Campbellsville
2002    Jeffrey Gumm, Taylor County
2001    Dwight Rudd, Elizabethtown
2000    Austin Newton, Campbellsville
1999    Marlis Scott, Marion County
1998    Petie Spaulding, Campbellsville
1997    Quintin Bailey, Iroquois
1996    Dontaie Smith, North Hardin
1995    Antwan Taylor, Eastern

Inaugural Taylor County Holiday Classic set for Friday and Saturday
The first Taylor County Holiday Classic girls’ basketball tournament is scheduled for Friday and Saturday.
The four-team Classic will be a round-robin format this season with the host Lady Cardinals being joined by Pulaski County, Estill County and Hart County (pairings are in Scorecard).
Before Saturday’s final game at 7:00 involving Taylor County and Hart County, a donation to the Delilah Gonzales Scholarship Fund and a recognition of her family will take place before the Taylor County-Hart County game.
Gonzales, a Lady Cardinal senior, was killed in a single-vehicle, automobile crash on Friday, Nov. 18, 2005.