Four Taylor County residents compete for Begley Scholarship

-A A +A
By The Staff

Four Taylor County residents competed in Lindsey Wilson College's 2008 Scholars Day on Saturday, Feb. 23, at the college.

The four Taylor County residents who participated in 2008 Scholars Day were:

Victoria Alexa Cox - The daughter of Dr. Clint and Tibby Durham of Campbellsville, Cox is a senior at Campbellsville High School. She is a member of the cheerleading squad, softball team, Fellowship of Christian Athletes, Kentucky Youth Assembly, United Methodist Church Group, the Central Kentucky News-Journal Teen Board and Student Council. Cox is Student Council publicity chair, and she has been a class officer for four years as well as a Junior Miss contestant.

Cody Aaron Ford - The son of Steven and Melissa Ford, Ford is a senior at Taylor County High School. He is a member of Fellowship of Christian Athletes, National Future Farmers of American Organization, Science Club, Creative Writers, Kentucky Junior Historical Society, the school journalism staff and his church youth group.

Stephen "Bryce" McDaniel - The son of Steve and Jolene McDaniel of Campbellsville, McDaniel is a senior at Taylor County High School. He is a member of the tennis team, Beta Club, Fellowship of Christian Athletes and Pep Club, and he was named All-State Academic in basketball.

Ryan Chance Walls - The son of Donald and Joan Walls of Campbellsville, Walls is a senior at Taylor County High School. He is a member of Fellowship of Christian Athletes, Student Government Association, a four-year varsity baseball letterman, swim team, Pep Club and Technology Students of America.

The four were among 73 select high school seniors from four states who were invited by the college to compete for one of three John B. Begley Scholarships.

The 73 Begley Scholars candidates submitted essays, interviewed with a three-panel committee and met with the college's faculty and staff.

The Begley Scholars Program - which is considered to be one of the most prestigious scholarships in Kentucky higher education - was created in 1997 to honor John B. Begley, who served as the sixth president of Lindsey Wilson from 1978-1997.

Begley Scholars receive a full-tuition-and-fees scholarship to attend Lindsey Wilson. The renewable scholarship - which includes tuition, room and board - is worth more than $23,000 a year and more than $100,000 over four years. Students are named Begley Scholars based on their academic ability and performance, leadership, community service and extracurricular activities.

"You will all receive a world-class education if you choose to attend Lindsey Wilson," said Lindsey Wilson President William T. Luckey Jr. "The thing that makes this scholarship so distinctive is the experience you will have while a Begley Scholar. It's a world-class experience to go along with a world-class education."

This year's Begley Scholars will be announced in three to four weeks, according to LWC Director of Admissions Charity Ferguson.

Begley Scholars are expected to participate in at least two co-curricular activities simultaneously, assuming formal leadership in at least one of them.

Begley Scholars are also required to fulfill a service component and are expected to distinguish themselves as men and women of high moral character by living according to high personal standards and exercising good judgment daily.

For more information about the Begley Scholars Program, visit www.lindsey.edu/begleyscholars.