Flanagan among Farm Credit director candidates

-A A +A

Dan Flanagan of Campbellsville is among the 11 farmers nominated to fill five board of director positions at Farm Credit Services of Mid-America.
Farm Credit Services of Mid-America is one of the largest agriculture lending cooperatives in the nation serving farmers and agribusinesses throughout Kentucky, Ohio, Indiana and Tennessee. The cooperative’s 73,000 voting stockholders will be casting their ballots starting in September.
Flanagan, who has served on the FCS board since 2007, will be running against John Kuegel Jr. of Owensboro.
The board is comprised of 16 elected directors - four from each state that the association serves. Two independent directors also serve on the board. They meet monthly to set policy and provide overall direction for the association. Board terms are generally four years.
Flanagan is a full-time farmer who owns a 400-acre farm and also leases 250 acres. On his farm, he raises soybeans, corn and wheat. He also manages six broiler houses and raises both wholesale and retail produce.
Flanagan is actively involved with the ministry at his church. He served as the deputy commissioner for the Kentucky Department of Agriculture in 1990. In 2005, he was selected as the Agribusiness Person of the Year.
Two years later, he was selected by the Soil Conservation Council as Master Conservationist of the Year. He served as vice chair of the Kentucky Council of Post Secondary Education, is currently serving as chair elect of the Kentucky Council of Agriculture and is a member of the Kentucky Poultry Federation Board. 
Flanagan received a bachelor’s degree from Campbellsville University. He also graduated from the University of Louisville where he received a master’s in administration. Additionally, he received a master’s degree in pastoral psychology and counseling from Southern Baptist Theological Seminary.
He and his wife Ginny have two children, William and Matthew. 
More information about the 11 candidates can be found on the cooperative’s website at www.e-farmcredit.com. Click News, Community, then 2011 Director Candidates.