EKU announces fall president's, dean's lists

-A A +A

Eastern Kentucky University has announced that 1,124 students have earned president's list honors and 2,579 dean's list honors for the fall 2010 semester.

Taylor County residents named to the president's list include Amelia Kristen Daugherty, a senior majoring in elementary education, and Russell Taylor Despain, a freshman majoring in aviation, both of Campbellsville, and Elizabeth Marie Spalding, a junior majoring in child and family studies, of Finley.

The president's list was established to recognize outstanding academic achievement. It is bestowed upon full-time undergraduate students who attain a perfect 4.0 grade point average for a semester.

"All of us at EKU are committed to academic excellence and the success of our students," EKU President Doug Whitlock said, "and we are especially pleased to recognize those students who have excelled to the point of perfection during a semester's work."

Daugherty, Despain and Spaulding were also named to the dean's list.

To achieve dean's list honors at Eastern, students attempting 14 or more credit hours must earn a 3.5 grade point average out of a possible 4.0. Students attempting 13 credit hours must earn a 3.65 GPA, and students attempting 12 credit hours must earn a 3.75 GPA.