Eagles wear fifth straight district crown

-A A +A

CHS baseballers down Adair 8-5.

By Bobby Brockman



Campbellsville fought back from four deficits before taking the lead for good with a three-run sixth inning en route to an 8-5 triumph over Adair County in the championship game of the 20th District Baseball Tournament on Wednesday.
Adair County (25-13) led 2-0, 3-2, 4-3 and 5-4 before the Eagles (16-20-1) tied it up again in the top of the fifth.
The Indians led 2-0 as Clay Turner and G Young had hits between walks to Marshall Shelley and Tanner Pooler in the first.
Brett Kearney’s two-run double tied it in the second for CHS.
After Adair County went back up 3-2 in the third, Aylette Cowherd doubled and scored on Zach
Durham’s single.
Pooler singled and scored in ACHS’ fourth before Stealth Townley walked and moved around on singles by Kearney and Bradley Bates.
Derek Brockman, who had the game-winning hit a night earlier in the Indians’ 2-1, eight-inning, first-round win over Marion County, to give Adair County its last lead at 5-4 in the bottom of the fourth.
Campbellsville knotted things up at 5-5 when Lake Wiseman and Caleb Gupton doubled in the fifth.
The Eagles started their sixth-inning rally with a Kearney double, the fourth of his five-hit day, a sacrifice bunt by Bates  and a single by  Cowherd.
Bunt singles by Durham, to first base, and Wiseman, to third base, made it 7-5 before Hayden Neal’s bases-loaded walk closed out the scoring.
Chris Sexton earned the mound win for Campbellsville by going the last four innings in relief of eighth-grade starter Austin Hash.

The tourney title gave the Eagles five in a row, second only to Taylor County’s seven between 1976-82 and the Cardinals’ six between 2000-05. Campbellsville won four straight from 1970-73, which included Fifth Region titles in 1971 and 1973. (Taylor County took the regional crown in 2001.)
•The huge dominance of Campbellsville and Taylor County continued on the diamond as the Eagles or Cardinals have played in every district championship game since 1969, except one — 1989 when Adair County downed Marion County for the Indians’ lone title.