Eagles hope to build off 13-win campaign

-A A +A

CHS hosts Cumberland Co. Friday before Tip-Off Classic Saturday

By Bobby Brockman


“If everything goes well with no major injuries, etc., I hope to build on the 13 wins from last season” remarked Tim Davis as he begins his 19th season at Campbellsville after 12 years and a 1993 state championship at Marion County.
“Even though we are still young (no senior starters), we had several players gain valuable experience last year,” Davis continued. “Hopefully, with a full season under their belts we can make even more improvement this season.”
The Eagles return five starters (minus graduated guard Bradley Bates) and three of their  top reserves from last year. Sophomores A.J. Vaught, Austin Hash and Kendon Young all started last season as freshmen.
Junior Damontez Smith, a two-year starter, averaged 10+points per game last year and fellow junior Derrick Caldwell returns as a part-time starter. Senior Zach Durham was injured for most of the season last year, but returns and should add depth for the Eagles in the back-court while seniors Weston Horn and Logan Dial played mostly JV last season but should contribute this year. Juniors Chris Lasley and Tony Barrera also will be counted on to provide outside scoring for the Eagles while sophomore Clayton Russell has made great strides in the pre-season workouts and will battle for valuable playing time.
CHS opens vs. Cumberland County on Friday before hosting Central Hardin in the three-game Domino’s Pizza Tip-Off Classic on Saturday.

    1    Kendon Young, f    6-0    Soph.
    2    Tavon Hunter, g    5-8    Soph.
    4    Damontez Smith, g    6-2    Jr.
    5    Logan Dial, f    6-2    Sr.
    10    Chris Lasley, g    6-0    Jr.
    11    Clayton Russell, g    6-0    Soph.
    12    Antonio Barrera, g    5-10    Jr.
    13    Charles Johnson, f    5-10    Soph.
    22    A.J. Vaught, f    6-3    Soph.
    23    Zach Durham, f    6-2    Sr.
    24    Austin Hash, f    6-3    Soph.
    25    J.T. Holmes, c    6-3    Jr.
    30    Weston Horn, f    6-1    Sr.
    33    Derrick Caldwell, c    6-2    Jr.
    34    Alex Bailey, f    6-0    Soph.
    35    Jake Despain, F    6-0    Soph.
    44    Levi Smith, f    6-1    Soph.
Head coach: Tim Davis.

Dec. 6    Cumberland County
Dec. 7    Central Hardin
Dec. 10    at Taylor County
Dec. 13    at Meade County
Dec. 17    at Adair County
Dec. 21-23    Breckinridge Co. Tourney
Dec. 26-28    CHS Holiday Classic
Jan. 3    Marion County
Jan. 7    LaRue County
Jan. 10    Taylor County
Jan. 11    Green County
Jan. 14    at Hart County
Jan. 17    at Marion County
Jan. 20    All A at Caverna
Jan. 24    Thomas Nelson
Jan. 27    Clinton County
Feb. 4    Washington County
Feb. 7    Adair County
Feb. 8    at Metcalfe County
Feb. 11    Burgin
Feb. 13    at Washington County
Feb. 14    at Bethlehem
Feb. 17    Caverna
Feb. 18    At Green County
Feb. 21    Nelson County