Distinguished Young Woman leaders show appreciation

-A A +A

On Aug. 27, 19 of our community’s most outstanding girls competed for more than $13,000 in cash scholarships and more than $70,000 in college-offered scholarships.
We are all very pleased that Kimberly O’Brien was named our first Distinguished Young Woman of Taylor County.

Taylor County has a long-standing reputation in the state as one of the top local programs. In its 50-plus year history, our program has provided more than $500,000 in scholarship money to help Taylor County girls pay for their college educations.
This would not be possible without all the donations and sponsorships Taylor County Junior Miss receives from all its supporters.
We owe a lot to the many hours donated to the program by Shelly Miller, our finance chairperson and invaluable advisor.
Some of this year’s supporters include Taylor County Bank, Citizens Bank and Trust Co., Community Trust Bank, United Citizens Bank, Forcht Bank, Taylor Regional Hospital, Campbellsville Rotary Club, Amazon.com, Mr. and Mrs. James C. Miller, Taylor County Anesthesia, Mr. & Mrs. Michael Phillips, Wise Dentistry for Kids, Café Bonin, Visions, The Green Room, A Cut Above, Gatti’s, Young & Associates, Bertram, Cox & Miller, Magnolia Alley, Annetta’s, Supertone, Merle Norman, Mitchell’s Men’s Wear, Taylor County Surgery Associates, Campbellsville Christian Church, many other Taylor County businesses and more than 700 Taylor County residents who bought a ticket to the show.

Each year many of the citizens of Taylor County give their time and resources to help make our program special. The generosity of the people who believe in this program is amazing.
This year, Campbellsville Independent Schools and its faculty helped us at every turn, and of course, Taylor County Schools support our program. There are so many people who spent countless hours making our program not only work, but be the best.
We would not be successful chairpersons without all the volunteers and contributors to the program. You know who you are, and we thank you from the bottom of our hearts.
To all 19 participants, it was wonderful to watch all of you “Be Your Best Self.” We hope this summer has been a positive experience for all of you, and a journey you will never forget.

Susan Dabney and Angie Russell
2011-2012 Taylor County Junior Miss/Distinguished Young Women of Taylor County Co- Chairpersons