CU welcomes 70+ football newcomers

-A A +A

Changes in Tigers', Taylor County's football schedules

By Bobby Brockman



Campbellsville University added 38 players to its 2013 roster last Wednesday during the first official day of the signing period.
Local kicker Bradley Bates of Campbellsville High School inked at 8:30 a.m. on opening day with CU recruiting coordinator Jim Hardy.
Bates was one of 22 Kentuckians to sign with CU, which also will welcome new players from eight other states.
Another unique Kentuckian is Elizabethtown lineman Dalton Swank. He was the only two-way all-area pick and is the grandson of Fifth Region Hall of Fame basketball referee Hade Durbin.
Campbellsville had 33 additions to the squad at semester break.

Schedule changes for Taylor County, CU football Tigers

Christmas came several months early for football followers on the area scene.
Campbellsville University re-released its 2013 schedule and while the 10 games remain the same, the Fighting Tigers will open at Hwy 55 rival on Saturday night, Aug. 31.
That means coach Perry Thomas’ club will have a game before its tilt at NCAA Division 1-AA Murray State on Sept. 7 and will now have two open weeks in their 12-week slate. The Tigers’ first home encounter is Sept. 28 against Belhaven.
On the high school circuit, Taylor County will conclude its regular season on Nov. 1 when the  Cardinals will host rival Green County for the first time since 2010. TCHS and the Dragons have met 35 times previously on the gridiron, but also did not play 2003-06.
Like CU, Taylor County will not have a home game on campus until late. The Cards have two road games and two games at Campbellsville University before entertaining Boyle County on Sept. 27.

JV football conference
The Heartland Athletic Conference has reorganized its junior varsity football league.
In the East Division will be Campbellsville, LaRue County, Adair County and Marion County while Taylor County, Green County, Russell County and Washington County will reside in the West.
Only the games within the division will count toward the four-team play-offs, but each team will have a cross-division rival — CHS-TCHS, LaRue-Green, Adair-Russell and Marion-Washington.