CU presents awards to students, faculty and staff members

-A A +A



Kevin Thomas

Campbellsville University

Campbellsville University recently recognized outstanding faculty, staff, and students during this year's annual Honors and Awards Day ceremony.

Awards were given in the following categories: special awards, academic awards, Servant Leadership Awards, honor graduates, Alpha Chi, "Who's Who Among Students in American Universities and Colleges" and Champions of Character awards. Students who made the president's list and dean's list were also recognized.

The Rotary Award was presented to Jacqueline Carlton Nelson of Campbellsville.

The Student Government Association presented awards to a faculty member, a staff member and a student who go the "extra mile."

Dr. Russell Barclay, visiting professor in public relations, of Campbellsville, was awarded the staff award, and Dr. Susan Howell, professor of psychology, of Campbellsville, won the Challenger Award for faculty.

The CU Alumni Association also presented awards to Campbellsville resident Jacqueline Carlton Nelson for outstanding senior.

Anna Elizabeth Price of Campbellsville was recognized as a co-salutatorian for December's commencement.

Co-valedictorians for May include Karen Lynn Bland of Campbellsville. Salutatorian for May was Jacqueline Carlton Nelson of Campbellsville.

Academic Awards were given to the following from Campbellsville: Accounting-Administrative Technology - Karen Lynn Bland; Economics-Healthcare Management - Dustin Trey Barnes; Organizational Management - Derek Lane Bishop; Broadcasting/Digital Media - Jordan Guy Antle; Spanish Teaching P-12 - Brent Linley Hatfield III; Educational Ministries - Anna Elizabeth Price;

Bobby R. Himes History Award - Jacqueline Carlton Nelson; Dr. William E. Bennett Political Science Award - Jacqueline Carlton Nelson; and Sociology - Jessie Rae Harden.

Servant Leadership Awards were presented to the following: Dr. Craig Rogers, associate professor of psychology and honors program director, for the faculty award, Jim Hardy, assistant director of athletics and fields manager, for the staff award. Ellie Ruth McKinley of Campbellsville received one of two student awards.

Joe Foster, assistant professor of business and economics, received the Distinguished Faculty Award for his 30 years of service to CU.

Honors graduates were also recognized. The following Campbellsville residents, some of whom graduated in December, will graduate summa cum laude, with a grade point average of 3.85 to 4.0: Karen Lynn Bland, Jacqueline Carlton Nelson, Anna Elizabeth Stepp Price, Adam Kyle Murphy Nunley and Hannah Suzanne Baird.

Campbellsville residents graduating magna cum laude with a grade point average of 3.70 to 3.84 are Erica Dawn Cowan of Campbellsville, Emily Dawn Campbell, Emilly Barreto Cunha, Jared Tyler Nolan, Ashley Morgan White, Derek Lane Bishop, Kelsie Reigh Peckham, Margaret Blaire Bland, Devin Renee Reynolds, Jessica Nicole Chappell Paris and Kayla Nicole Raganas.

Graduating cum laude, with a grade point average of 3.50 to 3.69 are Elijah Vaughn Coffey, Blake Alan Herron, Anne Elizabeth Southwood, Aaron Celeste Presley, Rebekah Anne Southwood, Christina Ann Butler Smith, Dustin Trey Barnes, Christian Hope Malcomson, Joseph Drake Smith and Aaron Jacob Schwoebel.

Campbellsville residents who are Alpha Chi inductees for 2013-2014 are Jessica Lee Blakeman, Justin Wade Cave of Campbellsville, Ellie Ruth McKinley of Campbellsville, Adam Kyle Murphy Nunley and Justin Bradley Wise.

Students from Taylor County who are listed in "Who's Who Among Students in Universities and Colleges 2013-2014" are Marsha Anne Kessler Atwood, Karen Lynn Bland, Rachel Renee Clements, Elijah Vaughn Coffey, Addison Chance Cox, Zachary Allen Cox, Hailey Ray Gregory, Blake Alan Herron and Ellie Ruth McKinley.

Students from Campbellsville who were named Champions of Character are men's cross country - Patrick Dylan Ford; and women's indoor track - Kelsey Reanna Feltner.