CU Jazz Ensemble kicks off annual tour

-A A +A
By The Staff

The Campbellsville University Jazz Ensemble, under the direction of Jennifer Tinnell, will kick off its annual fall tour today with performances scheduled at numerous high schools across the state.

The jazz ensemble will visit Glasgow High School and Allen County-Scottsville High School today; Ohio County High School in Hartford and Daviess County High School in Owensboro tomorrow; Central Hardin High School in Elizabethtown and Hart County High School in Munfordville on Wednesday; and North Hardin High School in Radcliff on Thursday.

The group will return to Campbellsville after its performance in Radliff and present a home concert at 8:30 p.m. in the Ransdell Chapel on the university's campus.

The jazz ensemble will perform a variety of tunes, including: "Heatseeker" by Larry Barton, "When the Saints Go Marchin' In" by Dave Wolpe, "Just the Way You Are" by Billy Joel, "A Salute to Benny Goodman" by Jeff Hest, "Weekend in Monacco" by Russ Freeman, "Jump, Jive & Wail" by Louis Prima, "Brick House" by The Commodores, and "The Bari Thought of You," a baritone sax feature by Peter Blair.

The Campbellsville University Percussion Ensemble will make a special appearance during the jazz ensemble tour, performing several percussion pieces.

Members of the jazz ensemble include: alto saxophone - Tonya Hoagland and Chris Malcolmson, both of Campbellsville, and Kristen Yeager of Mt. Washington; tenor saxophone - Austin Gilliat and Daniel Motley, both of Scottsville; baritone saxophone - Heather Campbell of Graysville, Pa.;

Trumpet - Matt Bristow of Owensboro, Cameron Raulston of LaGrange, Brian Riggs of Lawrenceburg and Bradley Whitehead of Russell Springs; trombone - Warren Akers of Campbellsville, Chris Taylor of Hanson, Jason Tiller of Russell Springs and Jesse West of Monticello;

Drums - Nathan Wilkerson of Munfordville; piano - Matt Hodge of Louisville; electric guitar - Ricky Gunter of Albany; and bass - Jon Chaudoin of Louisville.

The percussion ensemble is directed by C. Chad Floyd and includes Corey Barnes of Elizabethtown, Daniel Druen of Munfordville, Mary Gray of Owensboro, Kevin Riggs of Lawrenceburg and Nathan Wilkerson.