CU honors faculty, staff at 25th annual ceremony

-A A +A
By The Staff

Campbellsville University honored its faculty and staff with an annual recognition service.

Dr. Michael V. Carter, president of CU, congratulated faculty and staff on a successful 2007-2008 academic year. He said Campbellsville University's mission calls for everyone to work together, and faculty and staff did stay together when faced with some untimely deaths on campus during the year.

"It's been a year of contrasts - a year of joy and sadness and loss," he said.

He thanked everyone for their "character, love and compassion."

"You make me proud to be here," he said. "Our commitment to CU must not falter."

The faculty and staff who were recognized follow:

Forty years - J. Alvin Hardy, dean of academic support; 35 years - Dr. Frank Cheatham, vice president for academic affairs; Dr. Carolyn A. Garrison, associate professor of education; and Dr. Milton A. Rogers, professor of biology.

Thirty years - Donna K. Pirouz, associate professor of modern foreign language; 25 years - Paul A. Dameron, director of institutional research; and Nevalyn P. Moore, assistant professor of music; 20 years - Patricia B. Vaughn, secretary to the dean of student services; 15 years - Judy B. Clark, office assistant in student records.

Ten years - Dr. John Mark Carter, professor of recreation and aquatics; John E. Chowning, vice president for church and external relations and executive assistant to the president; Warren L. Cox, floor specialist/event setup coordinator; Aaron L. Gabehart, assistant director of financial aid; Peggy J. Lawson, receptionist for student records; Dr. Lisa R. McArthur, associate professor of music; Marlow B. McCullough, instructor in mathematics; and Robert E. Stotts, director of residence life.

Five years - Jodi M. Allen, director of counseling; Dr. Roscoe C. Bowen, associate professor of exercise science; Dr. Eric L. Bruns, associate professor of psychology; Dr. David L. Carlson, chair of the division of social science and associate professor of sociology; Debbie G. Clark, custodian; Ginger G. Colvin, head women's basketball coach;

Also, James D. Deaton, assistant professor of human performance; Dr. Jason L. Garrett, assistant professor of communication; Dr. Frieda E. Gebert, associate professor of music (vocal/choral); Sharon D. Gibson, secretary for the Office of Academic Support; Kelli S. Gwilt, assistant director of the Louisville Campus/admissions; H. Lynn Henderson, serviceman; Daran L. Kennon, industrial educator; David R. Payne, assistant football coach; Glenda Johana Perez, instructor in Spanish; and Adam A. Preston, men's head soccer coach.

Cheatham also congratulated professors who received promotions and tenure at the CU Board of Trustees meeting April 22.

The faculty members being promoted include: Dr. Rick Corum to professor of business administration; Dr. Carolyn Garrison to professor of education; Dr. Donna Irwin to associate professor of education; Starr Garrett to assistant professor of theater; and Glenda Johana Perez to assistant professor of Spanish.

Receiving tenure are: Dr. Brenda Priddy, associate professor of education and dean of the School of Education; and Dr. Scott Wigginton, associate professor of pastoral ministries and counseling.

Garrison gave the invocation at the faculty/staff service; J. Alvin Hardy, dean of academic support, gave the closing prayer.