CU honors 67 scholars at Central Kentucky Scholar's Day

-A A +A



Joan C. McKinney

Campbellsville University

Sixty-seven high school scholars from central Kentucky were recognized at Campbellsville University at a dinner in their honor recently at the 2010 Central Kentucky Scholar's Day.

Dave Walters, vice president for admissions and student services, said the Scholar's Day meant CU "recruited the brightest and the best" in preparing for the event.

He said in six months the students will make a decision on their college choice, and, "We are praying for you as you make this tough decision.

"Keep up the hard work. It does pay off," he said.

One of the "brightest and the best" students CU has graduated spoke to the students. A 2006 alumnus, Kwaku Osebreh from Ghana, West Africa, is a decision support analyst at Central Baptist Hospital in Lexington.

Osebreh received his job while he was still a student four years ago. As a student, Osebreh was the first, and only, student to ever have addressed a CU graduation class. He was Mr. Campbellsville University, received the Baptist Servant Leadership Award and was an Algernon Sydney Sullivan Award, among other awards.

"Campbellsville University is a great place to learn," he said. He told the parents, "Your children are smart; we can make them smarter." He told stories of two professors Dr. Robert Street, professor of computer information systems, and Dr. Robert Doty, retired professor of English who helped Osebreh learn and to come with an open mind.

"The possibilities are endless for you," he said. He told of serving in Phi Beta Lambda, a business society, and of helping the Galilean Home in Liberty.

"One of the great things about CU is our people," he said. He said an educated man is not dependant on multiple degrees, but is one who is understood and can be understood.

"The heart of an organization is its people," Osebreh said, "and we don't work alone in this world." He urged the students to participate in organizations, talk to their professors and find mentors.

He urged the students to have fun at college and to be thankful to their parents and those who have helped them along their journey in life.

"To know the road ahead, ask those returning," he said. "Respect those old men who have gone before us. They have a lot to teach us, if we listen."

Kristin Sexton, coordinator of undergraduate admissions, told the students that she was proud of them. "You have a lot of opportunities," she said.

She pointed out many positive attributes about CU including small class sizes, the involvement of the faculty in students' lives and the strong Christian values at CU.

"Every decision and choice at CU involves honoring the Lord and students," she said. "We don't force religion on you, but the spirit of the Lord is well received here."

She urged the students and parents to investigate all financial aid and to file the Free Application for Student Financial Aid by March 1. She said an estimated income can be used.

Sexton, who is from Campbellsville and is a 2007 graduate of Campbellsville University, stressed that filling out forms for aid such as the Kentucky Tuition Grant and College Access Program must be filled out early to be eligible.

"Students apply for as many scholarships as you can," she said. "We in the Office of Admissions are always willing to help you."

The students who were named 2010 Central Kentucky Scholars are: Kelsey Adams of Brandenburg; Jack "Trey" Allen of Bardstown; Catherine Arnold of Mammoth Cave; Michaela Ash of Upton; Tara Baldwin of Livingston;

Kalyn Barnett of Burkesville; Sara Basham of Brandenburg; Starla Bond of Mt. Vernon; Melanie Brockman of Campbellsville; Danielle Brown of Albany; Lauren Cameron of Monticello; Lydia Carroll of Brownsville;

Deborah Charalambakis of Nicholasville; Gretchen Claunch of Burkesville; Ben Coffman of Danville; Ryan Conard of Taylorsville; Rachel Cook of Stanford; Emily Couture of Danville;

Luke Deckard of Glasgow; Seth Dunbar of Columbia; Jonathan Dunn of Jamestown; Brooks Gorby of Leitchfield; Robbie Grubbs of Somerset; Samantha Hammer of Edmonton;

Megan Hay of Glasgow; Moriah Hourigan of Springfield; Christopher Kennedy of Kings Mountain; Josh King of Ferguson; Lois Lanham of Lebanon; Scott Layton of Wilmore;

Aaron Lee of Harrodsburg; Morgan Lindsey of Magnolia; Ben Lyvers of Bardstown; Daniel Lyvers of Bardstown; McKenzie Martin of Columbia; Alison McGaughey of Mt. Eden;

Kayla McGrew of Somerset; Ian McGuffin of Bardstown; Jay McPeak of Tompkinsville; Paul Megilligan of Danville; Annamaria Menes of Campbellsville; Jacqueline Nelson of Campbellsville;

Jacqueline Owens of Willisburg; Shawna Parson of Greensburg; Wesley Perkins of Monticello; Morgan Pike of Somerset; Lindsay Ramage of Jamestown; Chad Roberts of Monticello;

Shelby Rogers of Hodgenville; Lucas Roy of Liberty; Jenna Sallee of Elizabethtown; Kelsie Sallee of Danville; Matthew Salyers of Cox's Creek; Caleb Sheffield of Tompkinsville;

Cody Sheffield of Tompkisville; Brandon Shepherd of Albany; Amanda Shives of Glasgow; Andrew Skaggs of Hodgenville; Hunter Smith of Munfordville; Kaitlyn Stogdill of Somerset; Olivia Thompson of Lebanon; Quan Truong of Somerset; Lindsey Walton of Somerset;

Benjamin Whitlock of Campbellsville; Deanna Yocum of Stanford; and Sammi Zheng of Harrodsburg.

For more information about admission to Campbellsville University, contact the Office of Admissions at 789-5220 or admissions@campbellsville.edu.