Coulter TD catch pushes Cards past Powell

-A A +A

Taylor County tallies last for 29-24 play-off win.

By David Chewning

Taylor County opened the 2008 playoffs with an exciting 29-24 triumph over the Powell County Pirates on Friday night.


Nothing about the game came easy for the Cardinals (8-3) as the Pirates controlled the ball over 34 minutes of the contest and amassed 447 yards offense to the Cardinals' 340. Somehow, the local squad was able to make stops at key points and take advantage of their two second-half possessions to prevail and advance.

Powell County ran 14 plays and consumed the better portion of the first quarter, but the drive stalled at the Cardinal five-yard line after 75 yards with Andy Hunt and Dillain Thompson anchoring the TCHS defense in the red zone.

Chris Thomas (25 carries for 171 yards) literally carried his team down the field 95 yards. The Cardinals called his number 12 out of 16 plays for 73 yards, and he capped off the drive with an eight-yard score.


Powell County struck back quickly, needing only five plays as senior quarterback Billy Rice and tailback Jesse Rose engineered an 80-yard drive in just over a minute's time. Rose had carries of 21 and 23 yards during the march before Rice found Timmy Hardy behind coverage for a 29-yard touchdown to tie the score.

An untimely Cardinal delay penalty and failed fake punt attempt put the Pirates back in business at the Cardinal 46-yard line. With 2:03 remaining in the half, Rice found his favorite target, senior Jared Barron, for a touchdown to put his team up 14-7.

After a Cardinal turnover and 10-yard Pirate punt, the Cardinals found themselves in good field position. Lance Turpin hooked up with senior Michael Coulter for 43 yards and Thomas finished from two yards out to knot the score at the half.

Powell County controlled the ball over 11 minutes of the third quarter, but only had a 30-yard Shane Karpensky field goal to show for it.

When given the opportunity, the explosive Cardinal attack struck quickly, needing only four plays as Thomas set the stage with three carries for 48 yards. Leonard Macon finished things off going around right end for 31 yards and a 21-17 TCHS advantage.

The Pirates again consumed major minutes off the clock, using just over eight minutes and scoring with 2:22 remaining in the contest when Rice and Barron hooked up from 16 yards to put the Pirates back in front 24-21.

After five successful run plays, the Cardinals caught the Pirates stacked in the box and Thomas hit Coulter in stride for a 38-yard touchdown. It was Coulter's first action since a mid-season foot injury vs. Green County.

The excitement carried over to the extra-point, as Shane Morris took the errant snap around right end into the corner of the end zone for the two-pointer.

With only 34 seconds remaining, Powell County was unable to move down the field as time expired.

Taylor County hosts Estill County (10-1) Friday night (7:30) at Thomas Porter Stadium in the second round of KHSAA Class 3A playoffs. The Campbellsville Community League Junior and Senior travel squads will be recognized during the game.

At Taylor County

Powell County Pirates    0    14    3    7    —    24

Taylor County Cardinals    0    14    0    15    —    29

TCHS — Chris Thomas, 8, run (Shane Morris kick)

PCHS — Timmy Hardy, 24, pass from Billy Rice (Shane Karpensky kick)

PCHS — Jared Barron, 14, pass from Rice (Karpensky kick)

TCHS — Thomas, 2, run (Morris kick)

PCHS — Karpensky, 30, field goal

TCHS — Leonard Macon, 30, run (Morris kick)

PCHS — Barron, 16, pass from Rice (Karpensky kick)

TCHS — Michael Coulter, 38, pass from Chris Thomas (Morris run)

    PCHS    TCHS

First downs    20    12

Rushes-yards    45-179    31-225

Passing    18-33-0    5-9-0

Passing yards    268    115

Total yards    447    340

Fumbles lost    0    2

Penalties-yards    7-60    5-35

Punts-avg    1-10    1-36

Rushing — Chris Thomas 25-171, Leonard Macon 5-48, Skyler Edelen 1-6.

Passing — Lance Turpin 4-8-0 for 77, Thomas 1-1-0 for 38.

Receiving — Michael Coulter 2-81, Macon 1-22, Dillain Thompson 1-8, A.J. Wayne 1-4.