Cooperative program leaders honored

-A A +A
By The Staff

Kentucky Baptists honored two individuals and several churches for outstanding leadership and support of the Cooperative Program during an afternoon celebration at the Kentucky Baptist Convention's annual meeting on Nov. 11.

Anna White and Dr. James Jones each received the Distinguished Cooperative Program Leadership Award for their leadership in supporting the Cooperative Program, Southern Baptists' method for collectively funding mission and ministry efforts.

Throughout his 54-year ministry career, Jones has served in churches in Alabama, Indiana and Kentucky. Currently serving as pastor of Pleasant Hill Baptist Church in Campbellsville, he is also involved as a board member of the Kentucky Baptist Convention and serves on the KBC's Public Affairs Committee.

Over the years, Jones has served in various leadership positions for several Kentucky Baptist associations, the KBC and the Southern Baptist Convention. Jones served as president for the Kentucky Baptist Convention in 1989.

He holds degrees from Samford University and The Southern Baptist Theological Seminary and currently serves as special assistant for church relations at Campbellsville University.

"James Jones has invested in the cooperative program through his words and by his actions," said Billy Compton, executive associate for Cooperative Program and resources for the KBC. "As a pastor, he has led others to pray for and give through the cooperative program. As a leader in Kentucky Baptist Convention life, he has encouraged others to be strong supporters of our Cooperative Program ministries and mission causes."

A lifelong missions educator, White served in a variety of positions with the Kentucky Woman's Missionary Union. She served in local churches as WMU director for nearly 40 years and as Girls in Action director for nearly 15 years. White also served the Elkhorn Baptist Association for three terms as WMU director and for two terms as Baptist Women director.

The selection committee for the Distinguished Cooperative Program Leadership Award each year is composed of the current and immediate past three KBC presidents and a Kentucky WMU representative.

For more information on the Cooperative Program, visit www.kybaptist.org/cpmissions.