Central Hardin dominates all-region diamond squad

-A A +A

TCHS’ Hazel, Hollingsworth named second team

By Bobby Brockman



A pair of Taylor County High School seniors have been named to the Coaches’ All-Fifth Region Baseball Team for the 2013 season.
Pitcher Justin Hazel and shortstop Will Hollingsworth were named last week to the squad, which was dominated by four-time defending regional champion Central Hardin.
The Bruins led the 21-player first- and second-team units with six selections.
Green County’s Brennen Milby was on the first team while fellow Dragon senior Austin Walley was second team. Adair County senior Will Hixson was also a first-team pick.
Campbellsville’s Zach Durham, Austin Hash and Chase Thomas were named honorable mention as were Cardinals’ Jason Reynolds and Daniel Carney.
Reynolds is a senior while Durham is a junior, Hash and Thomas are freshmen and Carney an eighth-grader.
Half (five) of the first-team honorees return for 2014 as does four of the 11 second-team choices.
All-Fifth Region baseball team
First team

Drew Harrington (Sr.)    Central Hardin
Troy Squires (Sr.)    Central Hardin
Zeke Pinkham (Soph.)    Elizabethtown

Zach Ditto (Sr.)    Central Hardin
Brennen Milby (Sr.)    Green County
Javier Echevarria (Soph.)    North Hardin
Josh Krupinski (Jr.)    Central Hardin
Conner Ballard (Jr.)    Bethlehem
Dale Gumm (Jr.)    John Hardin
Will Hixson (Sr.)    Adair County
Second team
Garrett Morgan (Sr.)    Elizabethtown
Jake Yates (Soph.)    Bethlehem
Cannon Pender (Sr.)    Elizabethtown
Shunta Muto (Jr.)    Bardstown
Will Hollingsworth (Sr.)    Taylor County
Austin Walley (Sr.)    Green County
Jimmy Keating (Jr.)    Bethlehem
Alex Crowder (Sr.)    Central Hardin
Spencer Lucas (Jr.)    Central Hardin
Cole Hughes (Sr.)    LaRue County
Justin Hazel (Sr.)    Taylor County
Honorable mention
Bardstown: Daniel O’Daniel; Bethlehem: Blake Brangers; Campbellsville: Zach Durham, Austin Hash, Chase Thomas; Central Hardin: Gabe Hogan; Elizabethtown: Cody Bridges, Austin Freyberger, Hunter Sullivan; Fort Knox: Jon Box; Green County: Colton Bush, Cody Houk; Hart County: Luke Sims, Ross Thompson; North Hardin: Lance Baker, Graham Matthews, Jamaal Wilson; Taylor County: Daniel Carney, Jason Reynolds.