Cards finish ninth in first region wrestling meet

-A A +A

Team collects a third, five fifth-place showings

By Bobby Brockman

Coach Spencer Adams’ Taylor County Cardinals wrestling team finished ninth at the 12-team Region 2 Wrestling Meet at John Hardin High School  over the weekend.
The Cardinals’ top performer was Zach Richerson’s third-place showing in the 145-pound class.
Five other Taylor County wrestlers placed fifth — Garrett Haggerty at 120, Cooper Hall at 152, Jason Reynolds at 182, Cole Parson at 195 and Logan Edwards at 220.
Four Cardinals lost in consolation round one — Katilynn Phillips (126), Dylan Bright (160), Logan Perry (170) and Blake Mardis (285).
LaRue County captured its fourth straight region crown.
“We had our best team performance of the year,” Adams offered. “A few of our guys beat multiple wrestlers in their weight class, who they have yet to beat all year.
“This shows me that our team has been training harder and learning at a much quicker rate than any other team in the region and as far as I’m concerned the state as well.
“I am very proud of our wrestlers.  They have worked hard all year and they deserve this opportunity to go to the state tournament.
“As a first year program it has been tough getting started but with the help of our community we were able to get all the necessities to start this program,” Adams continued. “I hope this weekend we can perform as well as we did at the regional tournament.”
Richerson will definitely be wrestling in the 50th annual KHSAA Wrestling State Championships at Alltech Arena at the Kentucky Horse Park in Lexington starting on Friday. The other five Cardinals, who finished fifth at region, are alternates. They will weigh in tomorrow morning and will be notified at that time whether they will actually get to compete in the state meet which concludes Saturday.

Region 2 Wrestling Tournament team results
1. LaRue County    221.0
2. Central Hardin    200.0
3. John Hardin    147.0
4. Anderson County    113.0
5. North Hardin    109.0
6. Boyle County    97.0
7. Danville    76.0
8. Barren County    72.0
9. Taylor County    68.5
10. Nelson County    42.0
11. Fort Knox    30.0
12. Thomas Nelson    8.0