Applications sought for Olson Scholarships

-A A +A
By The Staff

The trustees of the Dr. William H. Olson Scholarship Trust have announced the open application period for the 2008-2009 scholarship.

Olson endowed the scholarship trust to help eligible students from Taylor County, Campbellsville and Green County high schools pursue undergraduate educational programs related to the medical field of study.

Olson was educated at Harvard Medical School, completed his medical internship at Beth Israel Hospital in Boston, Mass. and was an associate professor of neurology and anatomy at Vanderbilt University of Medicine.

He later developed an academic neurology program at the University of North Dakota School of Medicine and later became the first chairman of the newly formed department of neurology at the University of Louisville School of Medicine.

Olson was recognized worldwide for his research and discoveries in the basic chemical and neurology sciences in addition to his educational philosophies and programs.

Olson was invited to Taylor Regional Hospital years ago and began caring for local patients. Shortly thereafter, he bought a small farm and made his home in Taylor County. He loved the people in this area as much as he did the practice of medicine. He continued to attend to patients in the Taylor County area as well as at the University of Louisville for a number of years before being diagnosed and succumbing to cancer on July 5, 2004.

Out of his deep affection for the people of this area, Olson endowed this substantial scholarship trust solely for the love and pursuit of medical knowledge and understanding. It was Olson's dream that this trust would be a model for other similar scholarship endowments or be the recipient of other charitable and tax-deductible contributions to further the purpose of educating local students in the field of medicine.

The trust, certified as a 501(c)3 charitable organization, is administered by Mark Johnson, president and CEO of Citizens Bank & Trust Co.; Craig Cox, attorney of Campbellsville; and Dr. Stephen Hinton, friend and colleague of Olson.

Successful applicants for the Dr. William H. Olson Scholarship demonstrate excellence in character, academic achievement, community service and overall ability in addition to a mature commitment to the medical fields either in research or clinical practice. Information and applications for scholarship consideration can be obtained at the eligible schools through their guidance counselor programs and at the main office of the Citizens Bank & Trust Co. of Campbellsville.

Returning Olson scholars and their respective schools are Lauren Haines, Holly Sabo, Erika Grider and Kyle Romines, graduates of Taylor County High School; Meredith Angel, Lindsay Chandler, Nicholas Davis, Hope Hastings, Molly Anderson and Derek Ruel, Campbellsville High School graduates; and John Jeffries, Reyn Judd and Elizabeth DeSpain, Green County High School graduates.

For more information, e-mail muj@cbtky.com or call 465-8193.